Three Things I Learned in Two Months of Taking ADHD Meds

It made a difference, but not in the way I expected.

Gray Miller
Humans with ADHD

--

Please note: PRESCRIBED BY MY PHYSICIAN.
Please note: PRESCRIBED BY MY PHYSICIAN.

“You know the scene in The Expanse where the Martian interrogator takes a pill before questioning, and his eyes sharpen and everything comes into focus and he can sense even the slightest micro-expression on the prisoner’s face?” I said to him. “That’s what I imagine adderall is like.” I paused, thinking a bit, then added, “Or maybe like the pill in Limitless.”

That’s the advantage to talking with an old friend sitting at a bar; like me, he’s watched too many science-fiction movies, including ones with magic pills.

He’s been on ADHD meds for years, in several different forms, and at the time I was still debating whether to try treating my recently-diagnosed ADHD with med or not.

He shook his head with the authority of experience. “Then, my friend, you are in for a world of disappointment.”

Hearing about his experience with ADHD meds, as well as that of many other people who shared their stories with me in person and online, helped me make a more informed decision about whether to start the medication, and how I took it once I did.

This is only my own experience. I’m not a doctor, and there are a thousand different stories and…

--

--

Gray Miller
Humans with ADHD

Gray is a former Marine dancer grandpa visualist who writes to help adults figure out what they want to be when they grow up.