Abracadabra! I Turned a Series of Blog Posts into a Book about Character Development

Subtitled Fun Ways to Cast Your Fiction, it’s up on Amazon!

Marilyn Flower
Humor! Authenticity! Magic!

--

a group of characters emerge from an open book, next to the cover of my book, Developing Characters. Above them, it says, yes! yes!
Book cover and image created by author in Canva.om

Given how easy it is to publish here on Medium and how relatively simple it is to self-publish on Amazon, it may seem like magic.

But a lot of careful work went into creating my latest book, Developing Characters, Fun Ways to Cast Your Fiction.

I love creating characters.

It’s fun to design them so their flaws and false beliefs drag them down into the dungeons and depths of a story. So far down it brings on a Dark Night of the Soul, with no easy outs.

Like a pregnant pro-life pastor whose wife kicks him out when she learns she’s not his baby’s mama. Her best friend is.

He lands with a thud on his bottom as he hits bottom in my Man Pregnant! story.

Right where I want him. Right where we want all our flawed heroes.

So they’re forced to overcome those flaws in order to fight their way out of the mess we’ve made just for them.

I call this character orchestration.

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Humor! Authenticity! Magic!

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower