NATIONAL POETRY MONTH, APRIL 13 #NAPOWRIMO

Celestial Crescent, Won’t You Roll My Way?

I’ve been mooning over you all night long

Marilyn Flower
Humor! Authenticity! Magic!
2 min readApr 13, 2021

--

Yes, I know you’re a heavenly body
millions of miles away in the sky.
Yes, I know you’re not really a crescent,
and I know why. Instead of teasing me,
it’s time to start pleasing me, and you
already know what to do.

You’re a crescent, first and foremost.
and in my book, that means roll. That means
I get to drown you in butter and feed my soul.
Even better if you’re full of chocolate bits.

The coffee’s brewing, my thoughts are stewing,
eggs are frying in grease. But until you fly
from the sky onto my plate, my hungry tummy
will never know any peace.

You tease me up there, toasted to a golden
perfection. Light and flaky crusted, you’re my
favorite confection. Come, fly in my direction!

Dawn is about to break, which is why I
came awake, and since you’re about to forsake…

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Humor! Authenticity! Magic!

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower