Photo: Cannon Films

Chuck Norris’ Ridiculous Action Orgy ‘Invasion U.S.A.’ Scared Me Straight

It was anti-drug, anti-commie, and pro-gun

John DeVore
Humungus
Published in
5 min readNov 5, 2022

--

I was inundated with anti-drug messages in the mid-80s, which was a far more buttoned-up time than today.

I remember President Reagan and his wife, First Lady Nancy Reagan, launching their “Just Say No” campaign on TV in 1986 when I was twelve, and the next year, that famous commercial comparing drugs to a hot skillet and your brains to a raw egg started to play during my favorite cartoons.

The dope-smoking hippies were long-dead, and the beer-chugging hard hats were in charge.

There was a multi-front War on Drugs on, and the imaginations of white suburban boys and girls were one of the battlefields. This propaganda wouldn’t work for long — I eventually went to college and did drugs. Lots of drugs. I did drugs and drank booze for years and years, and that’s a whole other story.

But as a kid, I was terrified of reefer and smack and goofballs, which was the point.

My earliest memory of the evils of drugs was in the 1985 movie Invasion U.S.A. starring Chuck Norris, the bearded chaos cowboy who was friends with the late martial arts icon Bruce Lee.

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe