Photo: Amazon Studios

Elon Musk Is Wrong, Again, Because ‘Rings Of Power’ Is Good

Sorry, my dudes

John DeVore
Humungus
Published in
5 min readSep 8, 2022

--

I promised myself I would never write about Elon Musk again, and here I am, writing about Elon Musk, which is what Musk wants. I’m not suggesting he wants me, John DeVore, to write about him, but he wants people to react to the things he says because he understands the times we live in.

He’s a billionaire celebrity who wants more. More money, of course. But he also wants attention, and I suspect power, too. Real power.

The rich move through this world with ease and comfort, like warlords on chariots. They can buy loyalty, security, and whatever else they can dream of because everything has a price. These are the times we live in. But the rich, even the very rich, do not have political power. It’s for sale, but Elon Musk, surely, dreams of leading great multitudes and enjoying the perks of that authority. For instance: the state can take your money and property if it wants. The state can silence who they want, too. Even successful, privately-held companies. That’s just history right there.

I assume every billionaire gets bored and daydreams about being loved and feared. As the great poet Mel Brooks once said, it is good to be the king.

So while I cringe at writing about Elon Musk, he must be written about, especially…

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe