Photo: Sony Pictures

Forgive Me O Lord I’m Watching ‘John Carpenter’s Vampires’ Again

I can’t help myself

John DeVore
Published in
4 min readMay 20, 2022

--

I can separate art from the artist. It’s really not that hard. For instance, Woody Allen is a monster and his movies are overrated. They always have been. Annie Hall is a smug love letter to lily-livered narcissists and Manhattan is a romantic look at a child bride.

Both things are true. He’s a predator and a so-so filmmaker.

Here’s another example: 75-year-old Oscar-nominated actor James Woods is a full-time conservative troll on Twitter and he’s fantastic in 1998’s John Carpenter’s Vampires, a movie I have watched, easily, a dozen times.

Full disclosure: James Woods blocked me on Twitter almost ten years ago because I made fun of something he tweeted. I don’t remember what, exactly, but I’m guessing it was a pretty ignorant opinion. I also praised his vocal performance as Hades in one of my favorite Disney movies, Hercules. But, later, I gently mocked him and the free speech warrior blocked me and that was that. I have not read any of his provocative and mean-spirited tweets in years and I don’t really miss them.

Woods is a pioneering right-wing social media personality who helped perfect the now-classic “I’m a free speech warrior but I will block you if you criticize my cruel opinions “ one-two…

--

--

John DeVore

My memoir 'Theatre Kids: A True Tale of Off-Off Broadway' is now available. jdv.lol