Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

I Call Bullshit On Rich Dudes Who Cry ‘Censorship’ Non-Stop

Here’s an example of free speech: your anti-vax newsletter sucks

John DeVore
Published in
6 min readJan 27, 2022

--

Unless the U.S. government is using its vast powers to imprison journalists, intimidate publishers, or suppress words and ideas that threaten or offend the state then I call bullshit on rich dudes who cry “censorship” while making a buck off lying to their readers and viewers and listeners.

I do not trust the powerful. I do not trust the posh. I most certainly do not trust the high priests of big tech. When it comes to doctors I am a situational Reaganite: trust but verify. I love my neighbor but I keep an eye on him. And I do not trust newspaper publishers and cable news executives and, apparently, newsletter barons who whine about being persecuted when, in fact, they’re just being mocked for being money-grubbing phonies.

Hey, I believe in open debate. Sure. Absolutely. Your anti-vaccine newsletter sucks. That guy on TV telling grandparents to be afraid of everything? He’s a vain asshole. The popular podcast dude who gets off beating up on trans people just for fun? I mean, he’s a moron who regularly fucks up Google searches.

I’d have more respect for conservative bloggers and talking heads and fussy millionaire comedians if they just said what they were…

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe