Photo: 20th Century Studios

Movies That Are Easy On The Brain: ‘The League Of Extraordinary Gentlemen’

An action-fantasy about literary super-heroes starring Sean Connery in his final role? Yesh, please-sh.

John DeVore
Published in
6 min readJun 8, 2020

--

There are movies that challenge my worldview and movies so desperate to make me laugh I groan instead. And then there are movies that don’t require me to think at all. I think all the time. Too much. Sometimes my brain just wants to scream into a pillow, you know?

A movie that is easy on the brain is neither good nor bad. It’s a movie that’s like a hot bath. You kind of just soak in it for a couple of hours until you’re wrinkly. I love watching movies that force me to explore the shadows of the human heart. I also enjoy movies with bloated budgets or pretentious directors or groan-worthy performances. For instance, I will always cherish Halle Berry’s silly and sloppy 2004 movie Catwoman.

I like good movies and bad movies. I like movies.

--

--

John DeVore

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe