Photos: Warner Brothers Studios

My Dream Pandemic Bunker Is Lex Luthor’s Lair From 1978’s ‘Superman’

It’s the perfect end-of-the-world hideout

John DeVore
Published in
6 min readApr 18, 2020

--

Lex Luthor (Gene Hackman): “Miss Teschmacher, how many girls do you know who have a Park Avenue address like this one?”

Miss Teschmacher (Valerie Perrine): “A Park Avenue address? Two hundred feet below?”

I am self-isolating in a 500-square-foot one-bedroom apartment in Harlem that I rent. I do not have a country home or a beach house. I frequently fantasize about being rich and being able to afford a fancy luxury bunker. I am a good little capitalist, raised from birth to consume and covet.

In fact, one of my favorite things to do is read articles about billionaires fleeing to private islands or hermetically-sealed pleasure tombs where they can wait out the end of the world in comfort.

There was a time I use to make fun of doomsday preppers, but no more. To be fair, I could have planned for the apocalypse a little better. I have one too many cans of New England Clam Chowder.

But preppers don’t usually have the budgets the size of a small nation’s GDP. They’re mostly people with modest incomes who just…

--

--

John DeVore

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe