Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

One Day At A Time, Friend, One Day At A Time

That’s the best advice I have right now

John DeVore
Published in
5 min readMay 17, 2022

--

The average life expectancy of a man living in the United States is 76.3 years or 27,849.5 days. I am 47 years old and I have lived 17,155 of those days so far and I have, approximately, 10,694.5 or so left, give or take. I’m pretty healthy and I eat lots of beans so maybe I’ll make it to 80, who knows.

Of the 17,155 days I’ve been alive, I was drunk for about 6,205 of them. Seventeen years. That’s what is called a “bender.” I’m sure there were days during those years when I wasn’t tipsy or wasted or high but I don’t remember them so I don’t count them.

Most importantly, I am sober today. Right now, as I write this. Today is my 4,380th day of sobriety, which is exactly 12 years. The plan is to not drink tomorrow, too, but that is not my business right now. I will worry about the future when I get there. For now, I am sitting in a chair at a table next to an open window. There is a breeze. I have a cup of tea. My one-eyed dog is gently snoring. I am sober and clear-headed and open-hearted. I am breathing. I am hopeful and exhausted and anxious. I struggle to push away dim and distant memories of bloody noses and stolen bottles of Schnapps. There is nothing I can do about those days and nights, long ago, when I would wake up with a jolt at a bar and…

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe