Photo: NBC

Sometimes I Look In The Mirror And Whisper: “Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose”

Always ask yourself: what would Coach Taylor do?

John DeVore
Humungus
Published in
7 min readNov 21, 2022

--

A recent study from the UK suggests that boys should be urged to share their emotions and resist strict gender stereotypes. The research pushes back on the popular myth that men and boys are under attack from feminists and the culture at large and quite clearly states that boys benefit from being exposed to positive conversations about gender diversity.

This is common sense to me, but some people believe in traditional masculinity as if it were a religion. I am not one of those people. I try my damndest not to judge others too harshly, including those who I disagree with. I don’t always succeed at that. That’s on me.

I don’t need social scientists to tell me that stereotypes are damaging, that they grow in the thin soil of insecurities and fears, and that they can spread and strangle the dreams of others. It worries me that it is controversial to some that little boys should be encouraged to open their hearts and to accept others, especially those who are different, as equals.

But here we are.

I don’t think little ones should be shoved into rigid categories. This life is fluid. Children who identify as girls can dream of…

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe