Olivia Coleman and Anthony Hopkins in ‘Father’
Photo: Sony Pictures Classics

The Heartbreaking Movie ‘The Father’ Is About A Man Lost In His Own Mind

Anthony Hopkins’ legendary talents are on display in this drama

Humungus
Published in
4 min readMar 28, 2021

--

I don’t remember my father’s final weeks of life. The man bravely fought cancer for years, but near the end, I was too drunk to show up to support him. This was a long time ago and I am now 10 years sober. It still hurts.

But I do remember, during one of my brief final visits to Texas from New York City, him telling me he was not afraid of death. I’m surprised I still recall what he said because he said it softly, almost to himself. He wasn’t afraid of death because it meant he was going home.

He told he wasn’t afraid of where he came from, so why would he fear where he’s going? My next memory is arriving at the hospital from the airport to say goodbye, and an hour or so later, he was gone.

My old man. That’s what I used to call him.

In The Father, a man suffering from dementia slowly deteriorates before the eyes of his family and caretakers. The movie isn’t a typical tearjerker that insists the audience to bear witness to human frailty, reminding us all that one day our bodies will collapse like haunted houses. No. This is not a sentimental movie. It doesn’t grasp heartstrings. The Father is far more brutal and…

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe