The Marvel-less Mr. Martin

The legendary director of ‘Goodfellas’ doesn’t think comic book movies are ‘cinema’ — and people lost their damn minds

andy levy
Humungus
Published in
6 min readOct 7, 2019

--

On Friday I awoke and after my self-imposed mandatory “one-hour before looking at my phone” period was up I, unfortunately, looked at my phone. More specifically, I looked at Twitter.

And so I discovered that acclaimed film director Martin Scorsese was the talk of the world. (“The world” of course being the small subsection of humanity known as Marvel fanboys, along with the even smaller subsection of the Extremely Online community known as Film Twitter.)

The first tweets I saw didn’t directly reference what Scorsese had done, or said, or was accused of doing or saying, so I suppose I can be forgiven for worrying, given the extent of the conversation around him, that he had gotten drunk and had blurted out that Hitler had a couple of good ideas, or that all puppies should be stoned to death. But of course that wasn’t the case: what he actually said, to Empire magazine, in response to a question of whether he watches Marvel superhero movies was this:

“I tried, you know? But that’s not cinema… Honestly, the closest I can think of them, as well made as they are, with actors doing the best they can under the circumstances, is theme

--

--