Credit: Fox News

There Is No ‘War Against Men’

There is a difference between being oppressed, and being forced to listen

John DeVore
Humungus
Published in
5 min readSep 19, 2019

--

According to Fox News host Laura Ingraham, a ‘War Against Men’ is currently being waged. Did you know that? I didn’t. I don’t know if I believe her.

If there really is a “War Against Men” I think men are winning? Honestly. I’m pretty sure men dominate society. Let’s take Forbe’s Fortune 500, a list of the wealthiest and most powerful people in the business world. This year, it included a record 33 women. That’s it.

Men do pretty well when it comes to politics, too. There are 100 US Senators and 25 are women. As of 2016, 60 out of 167 Federal judges were women. Yes, a woman is in charge of the House of Representatives. The first woman to hold that position in history. So there’s that. Law enforcement and the military are solidly male. Same with the executive branch. I forgot to mention Wall Street.

The good news for men is that we are not outnumbered, at least when it comes to holding positions of power. We seem to be in charge of the money as well. And guns.

Yes, occasionally, and recently, men have had to answer for past deeds. Some of them have lost lucrative jobs and then had to scramble to get other lucrative jobs. These setbacks are no fun, I’m sure. But, all in…

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe