Reflections on Losing Interest

DailyPriyab
hungrulu
Published in
3 min read4 days ago

The Current Struggle

As I sit here, I’m torn between my desire to explore the world and capture its beauty through photography, and being lazy with my current obsession with binge-watching Netflix. This is problematic for someone who dreams of becoming a street photographer. This has impacted my interest in photography. I’ve learned to take things less seriously, which keeps me relaxed.

However, I also have the realization that I may not need all the camera gear and lenses I’ve accumulated over time. Photography can be an expensive hobby. Acquiring cameras from the second-hand market can be costly and sketchy. The problem is compounded by the fact that I’m already burdened with a plethora of photography equipment, but I am not sure what to do with it.

The Challenges of Pursuing Photography

I’ve scoured YouTube, discovering many photographers focusing on macro photography or creative flower photography. Also I’ve tried reaching out to fellow creators in social media for photography assignments. Yet, I’m left wondering what I should focus on to keep my passion for photography alive. The issue is not having enough time to devote to these pursuits.

My work and family commitments consume most of my waking hours, leaving me with only a brief window during my daily commute to take photos. Those 2–3 hours that I get during commute is when I do photography.

Changing Landscape of Photography

Real composition-focused photography is an art that requires dedication and creativity. Unfortunately, I feel like those qualities are missing in me. I enjoy taking candid shots of people, but even then, I’m only mediocre. However, having a good camera allows me to produce some decent photos.

I’m grateful for the patient friends who tolerate my forceful shots. Not everyone shares this enthusiasm, and capturing street photography can be particularly challenging. With more people carrying smartphones, they believe they’re better equipped to take pictures. This has made family and personal portraits a highly personal exercise. I feel the role of professional photographers has become redundant. Unless it’s a special occasion or ceremony, clients are unlikely to hire a photographer. Even for modelling assignments, breaking into the industry is difficult due to low pay and long hours.

Finding a New Interest

Like with any new hobby, I try to dive deep and master it before considering its pros and cons. However, I also worry about the time it takes to master the craft and how much I can earn compared to my current income.

Photography is a complex hobby that I’ve chosen to pursue. The opportunity cost, lack of suitable subjects, time constraints, and health concerns have all taken a toll on my interest. I’m worried about the amount of gear I’ve accumulated and plan to follow a slimming exercise to address this issue.

Summary

As my priorities change I may share my progress and experiences in new interests, such as walking or cycling, to supplement my photography journey. For now, buying a new camera or lens is not an option. Instead, I’ll have to focus on simplifying my life and finding ways to finance my travel and photography adventures.

Follow me in Youtube, Medium and Instagram to follow my photographic journey

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@hungrulu

Instagram (Hungrulu): https://www.instagram.com/hungrulu/

--

--

DailyPriyab
hungrulu

Data Engineering | Data Governance | Azure | Spark | Python | Manager