Fueling for Draft Day

Daina Falk
Hungry Fan
Published in
4 min readAug 26, 2014

Holy cow. The summer is over. <Sad face>. They say time flies, and boy were they right.

The days are already growing shorter, with the sun no longer setting at nearly 9pm. The mornings are feelings cooler. And I’m very aware that Fall is on its way. Yet while I will miss my shorts, barbecues on the patio, and day trips to the shore, there is one thing that gets me really, really excited about end of summer: Kickoff Time!

Fall means football! And for many of you, that also means it’s Fantasy Football Draft time! How much do we use the preseason as a pulse for season to come? And the hype? How much do we believe what we read or see in the Sports pages and on Sports Center? (If I hear another 20-minute-long “Johnny Football” hype debate on TV, I may throw the TV out the window). And who are the underrated guys that may just end up being super performers on the gridiron this season? (Anyone watching Jason Witten of the Cowboys? Sixth rounder’s lookin’ good)…

So I don’t know about you, but Draft Day makes me anxious. Like a mix of good and bad anxious. Good in the sense that I get crazy excited as I anticipate my picks and the overall awesomeness that will for certain be my team (duh). But bad anxious in that I get all antsy and nervous! (What if it doesn’t go as I plan or hope)?

Now, let me preface what I am about to say next by adding a short PSA: Do not always turn to food when you’re feeling anxious or stressed as eating your emotions is not healthy and you may end up morbidly obese, with heart disease, etc. You know this. You know better.

That said, I would suggest that gnawing on some delicious ribs during the draft is a great way to deal with tension (and also makes for a great dinner should your draft and dinner overlap, as mine have in the past). I’ve had my fair share of ribs in my life, but the ones that continue to stick out in my mind are the ones I had in Memphis one night when I drove cross country in 2006. My friend and I rolled up into Memphis starving. We walked Beale Street, listened to some blues, and ate ribs until our stomachs nearly burst. (Needless to say, that was an amazing night in Memphis).

So in the spirit of my nostalgia and a necessity for a stress-relieving recipe to get us all through Draft Day, I share with you a delicious recipe for end-of-summer (use your grill one last time) Memphis-style ribs. Note: Memphis ribs differ from most other ribs in that they feature a great dry rub, rather than a BBQ sauce. But don’t worry, there’s plenty of BBQ flavor in that rub. You won’t be missing that saucy mess drippin’ on your keyboard. (Just be sure to have plenty of paper towels on hand for the hand you click your trackpad with).

End of Summer Memphis-Style Ribs

Ingredients

BBQ Rub*
*Figure you will need 1–2 tablespoons of rub to smother each individual rack of ribs. (I like using the full 2 tablespoons for really zesty flavor. Use less rub for less kick). Adjust your proportions accordingly to ensure you can cover all the ribs you are making.

1/2 cup paprika
2 tablespoons kosher salt
3 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1/4 cup garlic powder
3 tablespoons onion powder
2 teaspoons dry mustard
1 1/2 tablespoons celery seeds
3 tablespoons mild chili powder
2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon dried oregano
2 teaspoons cumin

Makes 29 tablespoons.
What you don’t use you can store in an air-tight container in your cabinet for up to six months.

Ribs
4 slabs of baby back ribs (6–12lbs).

Preparation

Combine all dry rub ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Whisk until thoroughly mixed.

Prepare your ribs. Here is a great guide for how to do so properly (with photos)!

Rub (with your hands) 1–2 tablespoons of your spice mixture onto each rack.

Get your grill going for indirect BBQing. Be sure to use a drip pan in the center. I use a charcoal grill. When I cook these, I preheat my grill to a medium temperature (figure 325 to 375 degrees F). You can test the temperature with your hand — if you can hold your hand over the grill for 6–7 seconds before it feels like it will burn/melt off, it’s medium. Or you can just use a thermometer and save your hand.

I also like to add wood chips to my charcoal for a nice smoky flavor. (I like mesquite). This isn’t necessary if it’s not your thing. If you’re using a gas grill, you’ll need to use a smoker box. (Turn the gas to high. Once the wood chips start smoking, turn it down to medium).

Don’t forget to brush and oil your grill.

Arrange the ribs in a single layer on the grate above the drip pan. Cover and let cook for 75 minutes.

Check your ribs after 75 minutes. Sprinkle the top of each rack with another 2 teaspoons of the spice rub.

Your ribs are finished cooking when they are tender with the meat pulling back from the (tips of) the bones. If they are not yet done after 75 minutes:
— If using a gas grill, continue to cook in 15 minute increments, checking on your ribs. (They likely only need another 15–30 minutes).
— If using a charcoal grill, you’ll need to add more charcoal to your grill (as it is only losing heat and essentially warming at this point, rather than cooking). You want to keep the temperature in the 325 to 375 degrees F zone. Continue to cook your ribs in 15 minute increments, minding them regularly so as not to overcook them.

When they are done cooking, wrap the ribs in aluminum foil and let sit for 15 minutes. (This will help make them even more tender).

Then serve!

And good luck on Draft Day!

--

--

Daina Falk
Hungry Fan

Founder & face of Hungry Fan™ (brand). Curator of the sports fan's game day experience. Flavor maker. TV personality. Professional sports fan. #HungryFanFood