Healthy MLB Eats — Yes, There Is Such a Thing.

Daina Falk
Hungry Fan
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2014

When we think of Major League Baseball eatin’, healthy food isn’t the first thing that comes to mind. I immediately think of all those Philly cheesesteaks, steak sandwiches, brats, and garlic fries I have consumed en masse because gameday is my day to let loose and enjoy myself (via caloric consumption). Or in the very least, I think of “Take Me Out To the Ballgame” and immediately associate the song with peanuts and Cracker Jacks.

When I think I baseball food, I can say with certainty that I hardly think of fresh fruit or vegetable crudité. I more often associate those things, along with kale juice and quinoa, to my normal diet (that I watch closely so that I can let loose at the ballpark and eat like a total fatty). I’m not one of those yoga queens, don’t get me wrong. (I’m actually super inflexible and cannot do yoga to save my life). But I do like to eat and live healthfully.

So for those of you who like to eat healthy too, even on gameday, I’d like to point your attention to something you may not already know. What’s that, you ask? Healthy food at ballparks across America! Yes, it’s true! The eating healthy “fad” is catching on at MLB games.

I went through the data on my app, Hungry Fan, looking specifically for some healthy eats. Here are some highlights as there is quite a few healthy options to be found at ballparks across America:

Yankee Stadium, New York
It may not be the old Yankee Stadium (much to the chagrin of most New Yorkers), but it’s still a great place to watch a baseball game (and starting next year, soccer as well). While there are certainly some calorically significant and delicious menu items to put in your mouth at Yankee Stadium, the hospitality folks have got you waistline-minded fans covered as well. Head to the Farmers Stand for some fresh New York State produce (mostly apples) or to the sushi stand for rolls made fresh right in front of you. Sushi is a great source of protein and tastiness without all the calories of, say, a steak sandwich.

Citi Field, New York
Another great option from New York, Daruma of Tokyo offers fresh sushi including veggie rolls for vegetarians.

Citizens Bank Park, Philadelphia
The Philly Fresh stand sells fresh fruits, vegetable crudités, a grilled chicken wrap and salads while Harry the K’s has got a chopped salad. When you think about it, fresh fruit and veggies make perfect sense for a snack on a sunny (or even swelteringly hot summer) afternoon at the ballpark!

AT&T Park, San Francisco
The California Cookout stand sells a grilled chicken sandwich, a much healthier alternative to burgers and brats — or even fried chicken tenders.

Wrigley Field, Chicago
Wrigley Field in Chicago actually has a ton of healthy options including seven concession stands that offer salads, bison burgers (which are much leaner than regular burgers), fruit cups, and grilled chicken sandwiches.

Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles
Not surprisingly (for a city obsessed with healthy eating and one’s appearance), several vendors at Dodgers Stadium sell healthy options including sushi, fresh fruit, vegetables in a cup, salads, and healthy(ier) sandwiches (as opposed to cheesesteaks and BBQ sandwiches).

Rogers Centre, Toronto
For those of you unfamiliar with Toronto, a great neighboring city of our friends’ up north, it’s a very diverse city. Thus, it’s no surprise that there are more than a few concession stands at the Rogers Centre where fans can find tasty and healthy food options while taking in a Blue Jays game. Options include stands serving up a variety of salads and veggie dogs, vegetarian alternatives to the stadium classics we all know and love.

______________________________________________________

So if eating healthy is a week-long practice for you that doesn’t leave room for gameday indulging, no worries. At nearly every stadium in North America, there’s something for you.

And be sure to download Hungry Fan and use the “Healthy” filter to help you find what you’re looking for! I’m adding new stadiums all the time and am always updating those that are already on there!

--

--

Daina Falk
Hungry Fan

Founder & face of Hungry Fan™ (brand). Curator of the sports fan's game day experience. Flavor maker. TV personality. Professional sports fan. #HungryFanFood