WCBBQ Cook-Off: Houston’s Version of Oktoberfest

The Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo’s World Championship Barbecue Cook-Off Is Like Nothing Else You’ve Ever Experienced

Daina Falk
Hungry Fan
6 min readMar 2, 2016

--

IMG_6840
The “Come and Take It” flag, representative of the Texan rebel motto and complete with a long, rich history of battle against Mexico.

It goes without saying that the United States is indeed a big country — especially when you’re talking actual landmass. And one of the most sizeable parts of this great country is the imposingly large state of Texas. This we know. Chances are that you’ve heard the adage, “Everything’s bigger in Texas,” (Nod your head, you know you have).

As a native East Coaster (yankee) currently living in New York City (I have also lived in North Carolina and California), I must admit that prior to last October, I had never heard of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo (HLSR). But fortunately for me, the Houston Texans invited me to judge their tailgating competition this past football season and I met several tailgaters and even former Texans who couldn’t stop raving about this event. I knew, without a doubt, I had to go and see it for myself. For those of you who are like me prior to October, 2015 (and don’t know about the HSLR), let me assure you with all the certainty in the world that there is sufficient support of the idiom about largeness in Texas. One afternoon at the HSLR is just about all you need to prove that.

FullSizeRender
A young family enters the grounds of NRG stadium. I cannot help but adore the little girls in their cowboy hats and pink cowboy boots.

Walking into the grounds at NRG Stadium, it was clear as day I was in Texas. Stetsons, cowboy boots and fringe abounded. And I totally dug it.

My destination: the World Championship Barbecue Cook-Off, a special 3-day event that kicks of the Livestock Show and Rodeo. In essence, it’s a gigantic (Texas-sized) BBQ competition (that feels like a party) among Texans and some audacious BBQers from elsewhere. For three days, they all set up shop (in a very big way), invite all their friends and cook, eat, drink and dance until the sun goes down…and they keep on going. It’s kind of like tailgating but on steroids. Or perhaps better yet, it’s just like Munich’s Oktoberfest but instead of beer, it’s Texas BBQ (or as they say “Bar-B-Que”).

FullSizeRender copy
Behind the scenes at the Original Longneck Cookers’ tent where two members of the team prepare their brisket for dinner-hour service and competition judges. Each brisket has been slow cooked for 14 hours.

Aside from the sheer size; incredible array of barbecued meats (pulled pork, beef ribs, pork ribs, pork chops, chicken, fajita steak, brisket and all the sausage you can possibly imagine), baked beans, chili, cole slaw and tater salad; the cook-off is a competition! There are some serious BBQers in Texas and let me tell you, they are seriously competitive. I got an earful of smack talking and reason upon reason of why one particular rib recipe was better than whosie whatsie’s rib recipe at the tent down the way. “Oh I heard they didn’t make ribs at all!” or “Oh yeah there was no brisket over there so they shouldn’t even qualify.” It’s serious. And it’s no small operation to carry out. These individual entrants are paying tens of thousands per day to operate — to feed their guests, pay bands to perform, operate full bars, etc. In most instances, competitors get sponsors to help pay for the overhead, provide kitchen equipment, tables, chairs and sound systems. In return, sponsors use the space to entertain clients. (Sounds like a fair deal to me). While it may indeed be a gigantic party, there is some social benefit to it all as well, which is enough to rationalize the mania that is this 3-day event. Ultimately, the World Championship Barbecue Cook-Off feeds a scholarship fund. A portion of the money that goes into each tent and the booze goes to the fund, which helps students attend universities in the state of Texas. Well played, Texas. Well played.

FullSizeRender copy 2
Bottomless Pit was one of the largest tents I came across, occupying 4 entry spaces with a maximum capacity of close to 1,000 people. The largest tent I may have ever seen and packed with people and a full band, it’s no surprise they have to stockpile beer like they do. Look at all that Bud Light! I could make a beer case igloo with all those boxes!

Many — if not most — of these tents are invite-only. If you aren’t on the list, no soup (err…BBQ) for you! And if you’re lucky enough to get an invite, you’re eating, drinking, and dancing from 10am ’til 11pm. Tents range in size from 1 space (about 4 parking spaces wide and at least a couple rows deep) to 4 spaces (big enough to hold about 1,000 people). I wandered for quite a while around the many parking lots at the NRG grounds. I think I probably only saw about a quarter of it all. It’s massive. Like really, truly massive.

With the friendships I formed in October, I was able to score two invitations. One was at the Original Longneck Cookers tent, which has been in operation for 40+ years, and the other was the Confederated Cooks tent, which took home the top prize in 2005. Needless to say, the eating (and drinking) was good. But best of all was the incredible hospitality. I couldn’t write this without giving a special shout out to both Bob Humphrey and Carl Tragesser, as well as their wives and cook-off colleagues. Everyone was so incredibly kind and welcomed me into their tents with such warmth and generosity. Thank you, friends!!! I had a BLAST and the food was fantastic!

FullSizeRender copy 9
Jesse, one of the cooks at the Confederated Cooks tent, gave me a tour of their impressive cooking area, complete with a giant smoker filled with championship ribs.

For those of you who do not live in Texas, or even if you do: if you haven’t ever attended the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, you must. There are still tents to visit, beer to be consumed, food to try and concerts to be attended even if you are without an invitation to any one specific tent. This event is a bucket list item for sure. And if your idea of fun isn’t eating all day, I won’t hold it against you. There is also a carnival, livestock show and an entire rodeo to check out down there as well!

When the Texans tailgaters told me that the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo/World Championship Barbecue Cook-Off was an event not to be missed, they weren’t just whistling dixie. I’m so glad I made the trek down there and I will be sure to bring a lady Stetson and some cowboy boots next year! That and perhaps an extra stomach so I can try more food!

Additional HSLR/WCBBQ Eye Candy

FullSizeRender copy 6
What to do in between platefuls? Watch a good old fashioned pepper eating contest of course. For a grand prize of $50, these two folks duked it out, downing entire habanero peppers and even ghost chilies! The end result: a tie. And the two split the $50 evenly! (And they didn’t even need milk)! CRAZY.
Image-1
A portrait collection of cook-off goers. Top left: this adorable little girl takes on a rib bigger than she is. Bottom left: this passed out guy made me chuckle. His shirt reads, “Please don’t give this man more beer. Thank you, His Spouse.” Top right: the embodiment of Texas to me at the entrance to the Bottomless Pit. Check out that George Strait-like hat. YES. Bottom right: need to take a load off? Why not kick it on a wooden “horse”, complete with a full saddle? I like the guy on the far right’s bling. He loved showing it off.
Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 3.56.30 PM
Winners of the 2016 World Championship Barbecue Cook-Off: the Bulldog Mountain Cookin’ Crew 2. Well done, gentlemen!
Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 6.54.16 PM
It’s a bird! It’s a plane! No…it’s a grill/smoker! Yes, that’s right! That Boeing 777 is a meat cooker. If only they’d serve the contents of that smoker on flights home from the BBQ…
Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 8.32.58 PM
Just one of many platefuls I enjoyed during my day at the WCBBQ. Mmmmm.
IMG_6892
Now THAT’s what I call a rib. It’s a thing of beauty.

For more information on the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, click here. And for more on this year’s World Championship Barbecue Cook-Off, click here.

--

--

Daina Falk
Hungry Fan

Founder & face of Hungry Fan™ (brand). Curator of the sports fan's game day experience. Flavor maker. TV personality. Professional sports fan. #HungryFanFood