Charcuterie Board at Trou Normand.

Trou Normand, SF

alex deve
Hungry Frenchmen

--

I’ve been to Trou Normand (on New Montgomery Street, next to the Palace hotel), thanks to the advice of Ann Roberts, with all the folks from work to celebrate a huge milestone. It wasn’t that hard to convince me to go there:

Trou Normand focuses on whole-animal butchery and house-made charcuterie using pork from Riverdog Farm and dried meats made from rare Mangalitsa pigs bred exclusively by Csarda Haz Farm and Dinner Bell Farm.

If you know me, you know that this is the kind of things that really appeal to me. The decor is really cool: high ceiling, booths, a very nice bar. That’s always a good start!

Now, the important stuff: I’ve had some of the best charcuterie I’ve had in the US. More specifically, the pates were stunning. We had the large charcuterie and salumi board for $79 which was a good size for 5 people. If you’re more than 5, you’ll need a bigger version. The main dish were nice too, but seriously, I still think about those pates.

We had ordered a bottle of Chateau Tour Bayard, Montagne-St-Emilion at a decent $54 that paired quite well with our order.

Jean-Luc went there recently as well, and I think we both agree that the charcuterie board is the way to go, and is what makes this place so special. I’m going back there for a friend’s birthday, and already know that we will sit at the bar, and order that charcuterie board.

--

--

alex deve
Hungry Frenchmen

Entrepreneur & husband. CEO & Founder @ Whitetruffle, the eHarmony for talent. Easier to recruit & find a job. Love start-ups, technology, sports & food.