Disaolorin’s “Early Momo” | Music Review

Rating: 7.5/10

Joseph Tunde
Hurdio
2 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Early Momo’s Track Cover

Only a few musicians release their debuts on a good slate, but Disaolorin is one of the few with a pretty good debut track.

Disa is an up-and-coming Afrobeats musician from Lagos, the heartbeat of Nigeria. Coming from the home of Afrobeats, you should already know this track is deeply Afrocentric.

The song started with some guitar chords as an intro. The lead guitar is an integral part of this song. This, in my opinion, is because a guitarist, Joseph Jasef, produced the song. The guitar sits well with the ambient sound of the underlying pad played across bars. All the instruments used in this track communicate well in terms of timbre and style.

The music centers around a love theme, which can be heard throughout its lyrics, largely sung in Nigerian pidgin:

My cup of confidence, it is full o when I see you early momo,

only you fit to light up my mood o when I see you early momo

It’s an interpretation of love and how true love can spark confidence in us. The lyrics are not overly poetic, but they bring out the true intent behind the song.

I like the fact that the production is well done and every instrument used fits into the overall idea of the song: a love theme.

The song ends with very lush background vocals at the end.

After a short discussion and interview with Disaolorin, he said:

The inspiration of the song came from a tune I had on the piano while rehearsing and I built my lyrics base on that...the main inspiration of the song came from my woman...It took a lot of time to write it out because I had to delete and delete so many written works.

“Early Momo” is a song dedicated to my lover which seeks to explain that My Confidence is always up the scale any time I see her in the Morning...Beyond writing songs I made sure to give her her flowers...Her Face and Smile are what keeps me going.

I asked Disaolorin about the creative process behind “Early Momo,” and he said:

The creative Process wasn’t something easy...I had a lot of rehearsal with the pianist before I went to record...Early Momo was recorded Twice (mixed and mastered) before we finally got this Sound.

This song has set the stage for Disaolorin to fly. Let’s hope we get more of his work sooner.

You can read more of my writings below:

--

--

Joseph Tunde
Hurdio

Musician, music journalist, blogger, A&R representative and writer exploring music industry trends and analysis. Contact: https://linktr.ee/josepholatunde