The Trailer Trials: An Update

Hurlers On The Ditch
Hurlers on the Ditch
3 min readSep 2, 2016

If you’ve been following our activity on this site from the beginning you’ll know I wrote an article earlier in the year called The Trailer Trials. If you read that article, and you’re now reading this article, there’s one thing I’d like to say to you. Hi mam. However, if you didn’t read that but you’re thinking “I’m sure it’s brilliant but I’m truly captivated by this piece, can you summarise it for me?”. Fine.

Late last year, the trailer for Batman vs Superman was released. Not only was the trailer released, the entire plot for the movie was given away, for free, in under three minutes. Now I’m a big fan of superhero films, but this trailer killed any and all interest I had in seeing this film. In a conversation with fellow Hurler on the Ditch, Kev Conneely, who saw the film and enjoyed it, I guessed the entire plot correctly up until the final five minutes or so.

It was for this reason that I decided to try my hand at avoiding all trailers. Films and TV shows that I had any sort of interest in, I would be avoiding the trailers for at all costs. Now I’m sure you can understand that some are unavoidable, like ones shown before a film in the cinema, but it has been mightily successful so far.

I always found myself, especially with TV shows like the Walking Dead or Game of Thrones, waiting for scenes to happen that are shown in the trailers. Without the trailers, I hadn’t even a hint of notion what to expect from the most recent series of several shows. Just as a side note, if you’re a fan of the Walking Dead; the last 15 minutes of season 6, wow. Just wow. The 24th October can’t come quick enough. Good thing I haven’t watched the trailer for season 7.

Just now, while writing this, I have watched the trailers for season 6 of Game of Thrones and the second season of Daredevil. Both trailers show some of the coolest moments in each season. So instead of sitting on my chair… No let’s be real. So instead of lying on the couch with the feet up thinking “aw come on, when are the going to show this part?” I’m able to see everything for the first time while watching the show. It just works out so much better.

But I have to be honest. There was one trailer I couldn’t avoid. As soon as I saw it was released on YouTube I had to watch it. As a massive fan of the video game series, I just had to see the Assassin’s Creed trailer. Of course I wanted to see Michael Fassbender flipping over roofs and shit, killing lads left right and centre with hidden blades and running up walls; I’m human, sue me.

Last night, “The Night Of” started on Sky Atlantic. I’d heard that it’s supposed to be absolutely fantastic having seen different tweets from those lucky American audiences who have seen it long before it hit our screen. Didn’t watch a single trailer, didn’t even know what it was about. Oh wow, it’s fantastic. Now don’t get me wrong, I can see straight away that some people won’t like it because it could be considered a slow burn. But it’s a very tense and stressful slow burn of close calls and anticipation. I highly recommend it.

Seriously though, give this whole self imposed trailer ban a test run. After a few months, see if you find yourself enjoying shows and movies more than you previously had in the past. You can thank me later.

--

--