What It’s Like to Play Basketball Overseas

Part 1 of the Day-in-the life of an American playing abroad series

Nick Novak
Hustle With Us
6 min readJan 30, 2017

--

Crvena Zvezda Belgrade fans go wild before their Turkish Airlines Euroleague Basketball Playoff match vs CSKA Moscow.

For introduction purposes, my name is Nick Novak, I’m 26 years old and I am playing my 4th season as a professional basketball player. I’m from Pittsburgh, PA and was a Division II All-American at the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. I got a preview of the life as a college senior on an All-Star tour around Belgium and Holland, and man I loved it. Playing with 7 other Americans it was more like a Spring Break, adding basketball to it and I couldn’t wait to make it my job. Doing it on your own for an entire season, is absolutely nothing like the trip I went on lol, but still really cool but in a much different way. I’ve played in Germany, home in the US, and am currently in my 2nd Season in Portugal.

Let me start from the beginning.

I’d love to tell you everything you can expect, but it’s really a surprise every time. Leaving the USA and arriving in Europe is really crazy because honestly it all sounds good on paper, but when you arrive by yourself and have very little idea what’s going on you kind of have a feeling of being stranded, really far away and like what did I sign up for? Luckily, I’ve had some very respectable clubs.

Arriving in Berlin my first season, the owner was at the airport to pick me up. (If you’re looking for tips on how you’ll know, you’ll have no idea what they look like but they’ll be the only person who’s really excited to see you and how confused you look.) We drove from Berlin to my small town of Bernau, about a half an hour outside. He didn’t speak much English but was very friendly. He dropped me off at my apartment and showed me the ropes, and from the moment forward you’re kind of on your own lol. It may be different and an individual experience for you, but the club does this every year, it’s habit. You’re here to do a job (win games), and to take care of yourself. My apartment in Germany was really great. At first, I was like what is this stuff, but 3 years later, that’s one of the nicer apartments I’ve ever had, European or USA included. I practiced the first evening I was there, and you’re expected to be ready to go from Day 1, jet-lag and all.

Bernau bei Berlin, Germany — 2013

Showing up at basketball is exciting. Just to get to start doing what you’re actually there for, but really just to be doing something you KNOW. While everything else is so foreign and confusing, at practice you’re finally like okay I know what I’m doing. If you’re lucky, your coach and most of the team will speak English, and if not, you better pick up quickly by watching and following context clues and keep up.

Outside of basketball you have to try to get settled in. There’s a lot of down time and alone time, and for me, this is the hardest part. Coming out of college, you’re used to being with your teammates, your family, 24/7. The league I played in you were only allowed 1 American on the team so I was by myself probably 80% of my time there. I called home, a lot. Like a lot. Eventually I got the hang of it without trying to hold on to home so much. I started reading a lot of books. I would color a lot (which I found to be relaxing and it also provided something to focus on). I would go for a lot of walks. Basically, I would just try to find things I was familiar with and make some new habits out of things that I liked doing. Settling in is hard, mostly because of the language barrier. For me, the worst part about that is that you want to tell people you’re not stupid, you’re just new here. Figuring out grocery stores, where to get a haircut, how to catch the train, how to order food at restaurants, it all takes time and effort. Part of all my contracts are some free meals at local restaurants. The teams would introduce me to the people who work there, but things got difficult when I would go to one of those places and someone else is working and I would try to explain to them I was here for free food — lol.

“American” food

After a while, you get settled in to routines. Practice is pretty regimented. Depending on your league, you’ll have practice 3–4 days a week in the morning and every afternoon/night, with games on Saturdays and one day off per week.

Games. Games really make it worthwhile. They’re unlike anything you’ve played in at home. The fans are really into it, overall it’s a lot more intense. More tactical, really serious about every possession. They’re really the best part of the week and what you look forward to.

Rookie Season with SSV Lok Bernau — Berlin, Germany

Something else that’s really unique is going exploring. This is really an opportunity to see some things you would never see without basketball. Go places you would never even think of going. I was having a hard time on my own my first season. I had actually ventured out on a Saturday night and was making it back to the train to go home when I accidentally stumbled upon something, one of the only real landmarks I was familiar with before I arrived. It was late at night and it was all lit up and just looked like something out of a book. I was like wow, how else would I have ended up in front of the Brandenburg Gate if it wasn’t for this?

Brandenburg Gate — Berlin, Germany

So I just spit out a lot of information, but the amount I gave you doesn’t even compare to the amount that hits you when you show up for the first time. I just wanted to introduce you to what it’s like to show up somewhere as a rookie, and the following will be accounts of my experiences on my day to day life as an American playing in Europe.

Tips for Surviving Month 1

Don’t pack too much, you’ll spend most of your time at basketball.

Find things you’re used to that make you comfortable but go find some new things too, don’t be afraid to adapt.

Learn some basics. “Hello” “Thank you” “Sorry I don’t speak much Spanish/German/French/Portuguese/Flemish/Russian/etc”

Work hard in the gym and when you’re not there, relax, and enjoy.

If you’re looking for guidance on specific drills to improve any aspect of your game, from shooting, passing and dribbling to rebounding, defending and conditioning, try out the Hustle app — it’s free!

Like this post? Click the little heart below. It helps others see the post. Thanks!

--

--