Advice On Forever

AC0040
Hustle & Write
Published in
3 min readMar 27, 2024
Giphy

I visited Darlene
after the sun fell
below the horizon.
I kicked off my shoes
and set them beside
the hall closet.
The fireplace flickered
and cracked over maple logs.
The TV played,
but the sound was off.
Darlene had her glasses
on, licking her finger
as she flipped through
the pages of a Bible.
She sipped wine.
Darlene stood and gave me
her friendly hug.
An evergreen candle danced
through the shadows on the coffee table.
The wax puddled beneath its wick.
A forest of confessions hung thick.
She moved to the kitchen
to pour me a glass of red wine.
Darlene returned to the living room and served me.
The bitter juice from the vine.
I swished the drink in the cup and took a sip.
“Well?” She removed her glasses. “What do you think?”
“Did you put anything in it?” I softened my gaze.
“Hilarious,” Darlene said, wrapping her long, blond hair around her neck.
I followed as her eyes motioned to the sofa.
“You wanted to talk?” Darlene curled up on her maroon sofa with a dark fleece blanket.
“It’s Nicole.”
“Uh-oh, problems in pristineville?”
“She said she loves me with all of her heart.”
Darlene arched a brow. “Nicole has a heart?” She sipped her wine.
I sighed. “I’m being serious,” I said, lifting and lowering my hands. “What am I supposed to do?”
“You want me to plan your future?” Darlene said.
I loosened my red necktie. “I just want advice.” I ran my fingers through my thick, dark hair.
“I think I’ve said enough,” Darlene said, smoking a cigarette. She flicked the ashes into the tan ashtray on the hickory coffee table.
“What I’m confused about…” I paused and laughed. “This is going to sound funny.”
“Try me.” Darlene tipped her head back and finished her drink. “Well?” She sat the glass on the coffee table.
“I don’t love her,” I said, almost ashamed to admit it. “I’m a bad person, aren’t I?” I said, hoping she’d say no, even though I believed the answer was yes.
“You want my honest opinion?” Red replaced Darlene’s pale cheeks.
“You think you’ll ever find love?” I said before I thought it rude to ask.
Tears and mascara trailed down her cheeks. “I…” Darlene played with her hands.
“I’m sorry, Darlene.” I rubbed my face with my hands. “I shouldn’t have — ”
“It’s a beautiful feeling,” Darlene said. “Love. It’s a beautiful feeling.”
“It is.”
“I’m in love.” Darlene sobbed as though she needed to get this off her chest.
“I’m in love, too,” I said.
I crossed the room to sit beside her.
“With that bitch,” Darlene said.
I reached out my arms to embrace her chilly hands. “You’re not a bitch.”
Darlene locked her eyes with mine. “You’re?”
“In love with…”
“Go on,” Darlene said.
“I love you.”
“I know,” Darlene said. “Your eyes speak for your heart, and I love you more than anything.”
“I just want it to be like this forever,” I said. “You, in my arms, each day and night.”
Darlene sighed. “Then stay with me.”
“I’ll never leave you.”

(© 2024 AC)

(My new poetry collection: Screaming At Anxiety)

(Amazon Kindle, Spillwords, The Writers Club)

--

--

AC0040
Hustle & Write

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. Nonprofit. Education. I write short stories and poems.