I Need a Refresher Course on Followers and Following

To follow or not to follow, that is the question.

Stephen Sovie
Hustle & Write

--

Photo by Free Walking Tour Salzburg on Unsplash

I’ve been writing on Medium for quite a long time, but I don’t think I am smart enough to understand the platform’s intricacies. One of those I get confused about is who to follow.

Do I follow everyone who follows me? Do I follow those writers whose stories I have read and liked? Or do I only follow those who engage with my stories? Do I follow as many people as I can? To follow or not to follow, that is the question.

Since joining Medium, I have read numerous articles on this topic, but there seems to be a lack of consensus. Some well-known writers say you should follow as many people as possible, hoping they will follow you. They have written articles announcing to the world how they have gained thousands of followers in a short time.

Some authors say you should only follow a few people who consistently engage with your articles. They have a large number of followers but follow a small number of people. Some writers say you need a good follower/following ratio, whatever the hell that is.
Others say you should only follow those who have followed you and engaged with your stories.

--

--

Stephen Sovie
Hustle & Write

A liberal retiree who loves writing about politics, social issues, my pets and my life experiences. You can buy me coffee here, https://ko-fi.com/stephensovie