🏳️‍🌈 Let Your Pride Flag Fly!

Hustle Support
Hustle Blog
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2019

June marks the celebration of the LGBTQIA community across the country and in cities where we have offices: New York, San Francisco and Washington, D.C. Hustle is proud to support organizations that are working directly with the queer community to foster deeper engagement and allocating resources to the issues that matter.

Hustle is also proud to have an all-LGBTQIA identified Support Team in our San Francisco office. Let’s jump in a take a closer look at the team and why this is so important to them!

Jacque, Pansexual-identified

I think it’s always important to be your most authentic self. It’s not easy to ever feel like you have to hide any part of yourself. Creativity is important in whatever you do, and I think hiding who you are stifles that. I’m happy and proud to work for a company that not only supports me as a queer person, but celebrates it. I’ve never felt so comfortable and happy at a workplace before. It’s an amazing feeling.

Jones, QTPOC-identified (Queer Trans Person of Color)

I have worked at Hustle for the last 2 years and there has not been a day that I have felt othered based on my gender or sexual identity. One of the values at Hustle is Authenticity and each day I am afforded the privilege to be able to bring my whole self to work and be respected by my colleagues and managers for the work I do and not my gender identity. The best part about working at Hustle as a member of the queer community is knowing that my co-workers care just as much as I do about the issues that directly effect myself and the people I care most about in this world. Not only that but in June the Hustle team puts on a Happy Hour to kick off the Pride festivities here in the office where both allies and folks in the community can celebrate together and support each other to remember how far we’ve come to get where we are today.

Kat, Queer-identified

Hustle’s not the first place I’ve been publicly out, and I know that I’m privileged in that regard, but it’s the first place that I’ve felt super comfortable bringing my wife to events, talking about our mundane-but-queer family life, and I don’t have to explain the extra layers of my experience for people to get what I’m talking about. It’s also one of the most supportive environments in terms of family care and work-life balance, with balanced parental leave and flexible time off, which really feels like the best kind of LGBTQIA+ allyship I could ask for — active and real, not performative and difficult to navigate.

Take this month, and every month, to show respect to the queer community and have a fun and safe Pride — the team at Hustle certainly will! 🌈

--

--

Hustle Support
Hustle Blog

News from Hustle’s Support Team. Feeling stuck? Check out help.hustle.com.