Marketing guy? Yes, Indeed I am a “Hustler”

Here I share an inspirational story for those who have suffered at the hands of stereotypes

Rohan Tuteja
Hats, Claps and Traps

--

An interviewer asked me, ‘What do you do for your current organisation?’. I paused for a moment, told him about how we use different apps like Google Drive, Aweber, Hootsuite, Sproutsocial. Social media like fb, Twitter, Pinterest, Quora, LinkedIn @Preseed and alternatives that as a combination could be used for his organisation.

He repeated the same question again. I answered about how I manage, collaborate and communicate with my team(Progressive, awesome co-workers!) without stringent timings or location based boundaries. About the projects I worked on, the lean methodology of analyzing alternative actions.

He asked me about marketing. I answered all his questions, precisely marketing at different stages of a PLC or a Startup. I told him, when asked, how his firm’s products could be marketed to save up to 40% of their current expenditure.

I was confident and eager. I awaited his response. He didn’t seem to be tech savvy. His response was “That’s alright, you use all these apps, I like your solutions but we have strict requirements for experience to be 7 years+, Thanks”. I was dumbstruck.

In this competitive new-age, stereotypes still exist in a country like India where people rank corporate experience over new-age work flows. GenY is on the rise. We marketeers fill gaps between talents, manage projects, coordinate teams, prepare slide decks, uplift the brand image, create campaigns to spread the word. We think like consumers and dig out creative ideas which would solve a problem persistent in present times. Yes, we are hustlers and deserve more than just being judged.

My name is Rohan Tuteja, i might be a little egotistical here, but i am proud to announce that I am a hustler, a serial entrepreneur and a marketeer with a creative eye in simplistic UI’s. If you’ve gone through a similar experience, my advice would be to tough it out and keep trying. Dont let such things hamper your confidence. You can only do what you believe you can. So stay calm and believe!
Cheers!!!

--

--

Rohan Tuteja
Hats, Claps and Traps

A die hard foodie, a Hustler. @Medium i write my first response to an opportunity available or just topics that matter to me.