I am Starting my Own POD Business For FREE and Documenting Everything!

Alexandru Gîndea
HustleVentureSG
Published in
4 min readJul 1, 2023

Yep, everything. I will be making posts as usually but I will be making something like a series out of this. I will post updates every week and share my experience and what I learned. So, If you want to see the whole process of running a POD business, here is the perfect place for you!

Image from Gearment

Print On Demand, a great way to make money right?

Or not?

You are going to find out exactly that in this new series like posts that I will do on Medium!

In case you don’t know what POD is, here is a post in which I talked about it.

Starting everything!

The first step when starting a POD business is choosing your print website service.

In the making if this I thought I will start with Teespring, now known as Spring.

I talked about Spring in my other POD blog posts, but for now I think I will use Redbubble.

Why I Choose Redbubble?

Redbubble is a great POD site which makes everything easy for you.

And it literally does anything for you.

Marketing, printing and shipping your designs, the only thing you have to do is to create great pieces of work.

Your designs are likely to pop up on their integrated store even If you haven’t made a single sale before.

There are other great POD sites, such as Printify and many more, but the only one that you can start for totally, totally free, and have decent profit beginner profit is Redbubble, in my opinion.

After using Spring for sometime I can say that without advertisement you store will make no sells.

But on Redbubble you can always get new buyers, due to their big investment in promoting their website to rank among first in google search and bring a lot of people on a monthly basis.

*This images were taken from Similarweb, a website that gives you information about well, websites, and for free also.

As you can see a lot of people come to this website, so your designs have a great chance to be seen by your future customer.

In the future I may change to other site, but for now I will stick with Redbubble.

Creating my shop on Redbubble

This is a very important step.

In my opinion you can’t have a shop that sells every little design your mind can think of, because you won’t succeed.

If you try to please everyone, you please no one.

So before creating a shop, find a niche that suits you and the market.

But more the market, because it determines If you are going to be successful or not.

I am going to use SEO and keyword tools to find out what suits my needs.

With this shop I don’t want to jump on trends and end up with 10 sales this month and none after it.

I want to take the long term approach, so I will be searching for niches and products that kept their relevance throughout the years.

But I will be using trends too.

About the creation process, it’s pretty simple.

You go on redbubble.com and hit sign up, then choose artist account and complete with your personal info.

After that you can create your own designs, customize your store and start selling for completely free!

I will show my store in the future posts :)

This is it for this first blog post in this new series and this new experiment of mine!

I hope you enjoyed it and I hope you will enjoy the next posts as well.

In the next post I will be talking about how I found my niche, the tools I used and how to do it yourself.

Spending lots of time on searching niches is a crucial thing to do.

With the right niche, some simple designs should start selling fast!

Alex Gîndea
If you want to see more valuable blog posts, make sure to:
• 👏 Give the article 50 claps, so it would reach more people
• 🔔 Follow me on
Medium
• 🎃 Stay tunned because I post new articles every weekend!

--

--

Alexandru Gîndea
HustleVentureSG

Alex here. Getting better everyday and trying to share as much as possible. Business, health, self-improvement are just some of the things you'll see here:)