Is Print On Demand Still A Thing In 2023?

Alexandru Gîndea
HustleVentureSG
Published in
4 min readApr 15, 2023

Wow, Print On Demand, I didn’t heard something about that in a while, did you heard something? Anyway, I will tell you today all you should know about it so stick until the end!

Image from Gearment

Before I start I wish a happy Easter to everyone who’s celebrating it! I hope you are all good and ready for some good time!

I remember when I opened my first POD store online using teespring. Today you’ll find out how you can open your own online store for free, how to be profitable with it (not like I did) and much more.

What Is Print On Demand?

In case you don’t know what Print On Demand Is (POD), it basically means creating special and catchy logos and designs for cups, electronics and, the most popular, clothes.

But you can really create designs for everything you can find a supplier of the base product.

So, POD = selling things with a cool design that you created.

How To Start A Print On Demand Business?

Well, the first and most important thing is to have a place where the magic happens.

And by that I mean finding the right POD site to work on.

I really recommend Teespring, since I only used them.

They changed their name for some time to Spring, you can check them out right here.

But there are other POD alternatives you can go with, some of them being Printful, Printify, SPOD and JetPrint.

Now I only worked with Teespring, so the incoming parts will be based on it.

The next steps are to create a shop, create some cool designs for products, and sell them.

Easy right ? :)

How To Create A POD Shop?

Do not get discouraged by this step, it really is very, very easy.

If you are using Teespring like I did, you have a basic store creator.

It isn’t the best and you can do only some things with it, but it does the job.

If you are willing to spend some money you can create a store on shopify and connect it to your Teespring account.

This is available for any POD site you are using.

How To Create Money Making Designs?

This is where it gets kinda’ hard.

You need to choose niche, find what is already working, give it your touch and start creating your products.

You can use apps like Photoshop, but what I recommend, If you have no knowledge inside photo editing, is to use Canva.

Canva is a free photo and video editor which is very easy to use and has a lot of great stuff you can use to create designs.

There is also a paid version of Canva in which you get everything you can wish for.

I could go on and on about Canva, but I think I will make a different post about it at some point in the future.

Now that you found your niche, studied what is already selling and created your designs you are one step closer to making some money.

You only need to use the editor of the site you choose to add your designs to whatever product you want from their selection.

How To Sell Your Products?

This is how far I made it.

At the time, when I was doing POD on Teespring, it offered free exposure after you made your first ten sales.

But because I choose niche I was passionate about at that time I made no sales.

This is why it’s important to have all the things I said above checked before starting to sell your products.

Now, you can advertise for your products however you want.

You can do Facebook ads, Google ads, Instagram promotions and a lot more.

But keep in mind, If you want people to see your products you’ll need to spend some money.

Or you could advertise it to your own audience.

I talked about it more in this article I wrote.

And now the big question…

Is Print On Demand Still A Thing In 2023?

It sure is.

At least from my perspective.

You can be successful with it and it isn’t as hard as other business models.

If you learn from the best and try, you’ll find success very soon.

And that wraps it all!

I hope I could give you a good view point on POD and I hope you found this information useful.

See ya next time!

--

--

Alexandru Gîndea
HustleVentureSG

Alex here. Getting better everyday and trying to share as much as possible. Business, health, self-improvement are just some of the things you'll see here:)