Metamorphic women

HydRAW
HydRAW Zine
2 min readApr 25, 2021

--

By Krishna Ahir

Photo by David Suarez on Unsplash

To the kings who don’t think queens rule them
You are right when you say that a man is the head in the relationship
But what you’ve forgotten is that women are the necks that guide it
Overlooked and underestimated
Over emotional and underprivileged
Us women
Are the reasons for your smiles
The reasons for your orgasms
The reason for your first breath into this world
Yet, like dark family secrets our values are locked behind closed doors
Our worth is something negotiated with a label
Fuck you who said you can’t turn a hoe into a housewife
Who even came up with the terms “hoe” and “housewife”
Both equally degrading
Yet women label themselves as this too
A hoe is what you see a woman as who embraces her sexuality
And a housewife is what you grant praise to,
Being a woman who undermines herself to her holy husband
whom she looks up to but the only man I will ever look up to is god
Everyday single women are looked down upon for playing both parts
The woman and the man
When they should be held upon a pedestal and kissed like medallions
because they prove that you don’t need a dick
To get the job done
Response to the text message “send me a picture baby”
You might as well be saying morally degrade yourself at the hands of my request,
because I see you as an item
A sweet nothing to get off to
But you are wrong because I am a damn feminist
Not only do I know my worth as a woman
But as an individual
So before you assume that your lion mane has power over my bowed head
remember that I am a lioness

I am a queen
A token medallion
And I am a rose in the garden of Eden
Sweet to the eyes yet sharp to the touch
Do not be fooled
For I am powerful
Too

______________________________________________________________
Krishna Ahir is a stay at home mom by profession. She mesmerizes the readers with her heart touching, deep poems and stories. Her characters are inspired from real-life incidents.
_______________________________________________________________

--

--