Why Netflix will succeed against TV, but maybe not in the long run

Andreas Stegmann
hyperlinked
Published in
6 min readFeb 8, 2019

--

Last year I wrote a piece where I outlined my skepticism of Netflix becoming the one and only media king:

Since then my view has changed quite a bit. Why? Three factors:

The cultural impact Marie Kondo and Birdbox had sold me on Netflix as being already deeply embedded in (western) culture.

Netflix is in Germany not as big as in the US, but still, these two releases were the topics in my office cafeteria. Netflix is able pull a viral network effect without pushing extremely hard themselves. The word-of-mouth happens offline.

Secondly, this shows that Netflix doesn’t necessarily need a blockbuster success with…

--

--

Andreas Stegmann
hyperlinked

👨‍💻 Product Owner ✍️ Writes mostly about the intersection of Tech, UX & Business strategy.