Meet the UWashington Hyperloop Team — Jaclyn Rainey

Washington Hyperloop
Hyperloop One
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2016

Introduction:

My name is Jaclyn Rainey and I am currently a junior pursuing a degree in Mechanical Engineering here at the University of Washington. In my free time I enjoy: hiking, biking, swimming, mountaineering, photography, and painting.

What is your current role on the team?

I currently serve as the Manufacturing Lead and also assist wherever help is needed.

What has been your most memorable moment?

My most memorable moment was designing and manufacturing my first composite layup. I had never done anything like that before and I realized how fun of a project it was going to be to create a full composite shell. I look forward to doing more of this work in the future.

What has been your greatest challenge thus far?

Procuring donations of materials and not only getting the materials but also making sure that we can get materials that work cohesivley together. We have faced great hardships of getting the materials we need and then realizing that they don’t work together. This has forced us to be creative with how we use and implement these composites.

What are you most looking forward to at the SpaceX competition?

The moment that I see the pod make it down the track and realize that all of our hard work and dedication came together and made that possible. It will be an amazing and fulfilling experience.

Where do you see the hyperloop technology heading in the future?

I see hyperloop becoming a widely used mode of transportation of goods and people. I can see this being an effective way for postal services to fulfill deliveries faster than they have and for people to be able to more frequently visit places and people around the country. This technology will give individuals the opportunity to experience more at a reasonable cost with less of a time restraint. I see hyperloop improving the efficiency of our day-to-day lifestyles.

--

--

Washington Hyperloop
Hyperloop One

The Hyperloop team at the University of Washington competing in the engineering competition hosted by Elon Musk and SpaceX!