Season Haitus

Eric M. Burton
Hyperreality
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018

Feels like I haven’t put pen to pad in ages. Whole lifetimes have passed and I’m still acting like I just came here. Vacation mode should have been over 7–8 months ago. But I can’t resist being in the moment.

I’m addicted to fun times and forgetting about tomorrow. I’ve collected hundreds of them into piles of meaningless.

So what am I here for if not to add my musical footnotes to the human epoch?

We’re all here for something. And we can only find out what that something is by trying out many different things. I’ve been taste-testing passions for quite a while now. Enough with the dabbling. Let’s take some of these things and eat them whole.

Boxing.

I went from wrapping hands twice a month to three times a week. Never have I experienced such a Mental Journey. There’s nothing physical about physical fitness. Each session is training your mind to get 1% better at dealing with the many external forces that shake your vibes daily.

I’m eating better (sometimes), and getting closer to my dream of running a marathon. All this mental focus has got me falling back in love with the thing I was put on this Rock to do:

Storytelling.

I’m back guys, ink smudges and all. Empty pen cartridges line my desk like shell casings. I’m no longer taking shots in the dark. I’m shooting for the quasars.

I missed this writing thing. In the past weeks, I’ve done my best to recreate the routine environment that sparked my first novel in Ryūgasaki. I’m over waiting for the Muse, she can come join me when she likes. Time’s passing always, and these words aren’t gonna leave my brain if I don’t get to writing.

It’ll be a bloody, imperfect mess.

But I gotta get started if I’m going to get anywhere.

See you in the next one.

--

--

Eric M. Burton
Hyperreality

Wandering Rōnin. Sci-Fi head and digital crate-digger in search of the ever expanding Truth.