Vivid Vision Workshop — Courtesy of EO-San Diego

Vivid Vision — The Secret To Building A World-Class Life/Business

Anup Marwadi
HyperTrends

--

Hi, I’m Anup Marwadi, CEO of HyperTrends Global Inc. and TicketBlox and a fractional CTO to companies like RevWork.ai and Tzilla.com.

I am a member of Entrepreneur’s Organization — San Diego and am always looking to get better as a leader and as an individual, and EO is one of the best community of people to help make that happen.

With HyperTrends, I am on a mission to help businesses scale exponentially by using software as their primary differentiator.

With TicketBlox, I am on a mission to empower Event promoters to execute world-class events, on their terms, without any boundaries or bindings, using a modern disruptive technology platform.

Running 2 companies is hard, especially when both are growing like crazy.

I am always looking to be a better leader so that I can make a “dent in the universe”, as they call it.

As they say, “When the student is ready, the teacher appears”.

Turns out, EO San Diego was hosting a learning session + workshop on “Vivid Vision” hosted by Jennifer Hudye of Conscious Copy

Vivid Vision — The Backstory

If you don’t know about Vivid Vision, the back-story is pretty amazing.

This concept was popularized by Cameron Herold after he found out that successful olympic athletes often visualize themselves winning their games imagining every scenario in-depth.

They see themselves, their audiences, their opponents and visualize every aspect of the sport from start to finish. This strategy gave them great results.

Cameron started doing this for his business 1–800-Got-Junk at that time and it made a radical difference. A company, whose revenues were stagnating at $1M year after year suddenly became an MVP and a household name.

What’s interesting is that every aspect of Cameron’s vision actually came true, including being on Oprah (yes, he actually imagined that).

The average growth of companies with a vision was double than that of companies without a vision.

The workshop organized by EO also included a breathing session.

So, I took my Yoga mat, and my trusted Leuchtturm 1917 notebook, and off I went to Julep, which is a great venue here in San Diego.

Breathing Workshop

Why the breathing workshop? You might ask.

Breathing Workshop

The answer is simple, Vivid Vision requires you to reset your mind from the daily noise so that it is ready to accept new signals, and envision new frontiers without the garbage of daily chores, responsibilities and deadlines blocking your imagination.

I was skeptical at first, but my out of the body experience, and the fundamental clarity that ensued, made me a believer.

If you’re new to breathing, I highly recommend trying Box Breathing and other techniques popularized by Wim Hof.

We started our guided session by breathing in through the mouth and releasing the breath through the mouth, both in a highly exaggerated fashion. Many times, we would hold our breath as much as humanly possible and then release it out slowly.

Breathe in and fill your stomach, push the air into the chest, and then breathe out. All for a count of 4–2–4.

If you do this for a prolonged period of time, it will put you in a trance state.

Common side-effects include: feeling out of body experiences, pain in specific areas of your body, tingling, numbness etc.

I felt nearly all of them.

I felt chronic pain in my back, but it disappeared after a while.

I had to come out of my breathing once, because I felt like my body would no longer be able to take it, and I got paranoid.

I continued at it though. I had to try this out.

After a while, I felt like I was floating in the air and my entire body was tingling.

I felt like a feather floating through the air.

The accompanying background music was well-crafted and kept things light.

After 60 mins or thereabouts, we finally got out of it and shared our experiences.

I usually get very quiet when I have such experiences. I like to absorb what I just went through.

I was happy to hear many shares and people having similar experiences.

Needless to say, my mind was cleared.

The Vivid Vision Workshop

We then huddled to the other part of the room to do our Vivid Vision workshop.

I was ready, my mind was clear, I had a blank canvas, and I was ready to go.

Q&A During Our Vivid Vision Workshop

Some tips on how to build your own vision today:

  • Your Vivid Vision should be *yours*
  • It has to be a 3-year vision, not less, not more.
  • You have to stop worrying about the “How” and get more clarity on the “Why”
  • You have to visualize *every* aspect in detail
  • Don’t let your past dictate what your future holds
  • You are most likely the obstacle to the fulfillment of your vision
  • Don’t let others criticize your vision
  • Go deep
  • Talk it out with your peers — saying it out aloud reinforces the vision and the vibrations make it feel more real
  • Talk in present tense. Don’t say, “In 3 years, I will have…” say, “It’s Dec 31, 2025 and I AM…”
  • Repeat it for yourself, your family, your relationships, your businesses
  • Codify it by adding wonderful images and colors
  • Publish it internally with your teams
  • Publish it externally after a quarter
The Vivid Vision Method

Once you have a Vivid Vision, it is important that you tell everyone about it.

It is one of the best kept secrets to align employees, partners, family members and anyone else that is associated with the vision.

Use it for recruitment. Use it to find right vendors and customers.

A Perfect Filter For Your Future

Gain more clarity and reverse engineer an action plan to get you to your Vivid Vision. Get back to it and write it out as many times as you can and then make it a part of your weekly reviews. You’ll see the outcomes.

Conclusion

We had a blast building our Vivid Vision. I was so impressed that I am building one for myself, my family and my companies.

I’m really looking forward to seeing how this impacts my life.

If you have done this before, and have stories to share, please chime in.

--

--

Anup Marwadi
HyperTrends

Tech Entrepreneur. Product Builder. Student for Life. CEO - HyperTrends, TicketBlox