Lying with Data: The Art of Deception in the Digital Age

Harpreet Singh Kalsi
I am a dummy, enlighten me!
7 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Image generated by DALL-E 3

I am one of those individuals who really get swayed by the use of data and I like to be in a place where data drives decisions, the phrase “numbers don’t lie” has never been more questionable. The prevalence of data manipulation, often referred to as “lying with data,” has become a significant concern. This article explores the various facets of this issue, its implications, and how to safeguard against deceptive data practices. I just wanted to outline and share about it in TLDR format. I hope this will help some of you in your quest to learn more. It is part of my series — I am a dummy, enlighten me.

The Rise of Misleading Statistics

Statistics are the backbone of informed decision-making. However, the misuse of numerical data, either intentionally or by error, can lead to false narratives. This misuse is not a new phenomenon, but its impact has been magnified in the digital age, where data is abundant, and its analysis is pivotal for businesses, governments, and individuals alike.

The Digital Amplification

The digital revolution has democratized data access, but it has also facilitated the spread of misinformation. Advanced technology and business intelligence software have enhanced the capabilities to manipulate data, making it…

--

--

Harpreet Singh Kalsi
I am a dummy, enlighten me!

Software Engineering Leadership | Advisor | Product Management | Book author