A Modern Rosary

Kev Fitzsimons
I Am Not A Product
Published in
1 min readJan 13, 2024

Inspired by Byung-Chul Han's metaphor of the smartphone as our devotional object.

I am not a product.

I am not a billable hour.

I am not a resource to be exploited.

I am not a data point.

I am not a quota.

I am not a project to be optimized.

I am not a filter.

I am not user-generated content.

I am not the sum of my Likes.

I am not a value proposition.

I am not a return on investment.

I am not what I do for work.

I am not a journalling prompt.

I am not a diagnosis.

I am not a problem to be solved.

I am not an achievement.

I am not in a race.

I am not alone.

I am a story.

I am a song.

I am a rough sketch.

I am sharp edges.

I am blurred lines.

I am a web of contradictions.

I am allowed to do nothing.

I am allowed to say nothing.

I am allowed to think nothing.

I am a beginning and an end.

I am a past and a future.

I am a brief flash of light in the darkness.

--

--

Kev Fitzsimons
I Am Not A Product

Reformed digital consultant and corporate grindmeister. Part-time major label songwriter. Writing on Medium at I Am Not A Product.