Farah’s Journey — Becoming a Software Engineer

Farah Shaqoura
I am Palestine
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2024
Farah participated in the Palestine Collegiate Programming Contest.

Editor’s note: You can help Farah and her family by donating here.

Tell me about your current situation.

I dedicated myself wholeheartedly to studying software development at university, fueled by a deep passion for expanding my knowledge in this field. As one of the top students, I earned an excellent degree in Software Engineering, leveraging every opportunity to apply my learning to real-world projects. I put forth my effort to benefit from the subjects that I learned at university.

I had the incredible opportunity to intern at Google for Startups, where I immersed myself in a startup called Testmate. This experience allowed me to expand my skills as a software developer while working remotely. I faced numerous challenges, each one presenting an opportunity for growth. Through these challenges, I honed my problem-solving abilities and acquired invaluable new skills. It was a truly empowering experience.

I lived in a warm house where I had a desktop in the workspace to work as a developer. At Al Azhar University, I pursued my passion for learning. Excitement filled me for the new semester. But after October 7, everything changed. Work halted, and my university was destroyed. I lost touch with my friends, and life came to a standstill.

My university before and after the destruction caused by occupation.

What happened to you and your family after the bombing started?

We were forced to leave our home in Northern Gaza, fearing for our lives, and move to the south of Gaza, to a city called Khan Younis. We lived in a home in very poor conditions. The services were inadequate, so we had to accept the most basic services available. Additionally, my dad’s salary was cut that month, and the cost of living skyrocketed, with things now costing more than 10 times their usual price. We struggled a lot there. Unfortunately, even with these sacrifices, our safety is still not assured, as my sister was injured there.

So we live in Rafah, where we don’t know anyone. We live in a tent, and all the circumstances there are bad. There is barely enough clean water to drink. Additionally, the weather is very cold, and we don’t have enough cover to stay warm.

Tell me about your family.

I have five sisters and one brother. My mother has a disease called Pulmonary Fibrosis and is struggling under the pressure we are experiencing. She feels increasingly tired. Currently, there is no service in the hospital, and there is no medical care available for her.

My father, once vibrant as a physics teacher, has weathered tremendous challenges to ensure our survival. I witness him aging as if two decades have passed in mere moments. Despite his valiant efforts, the weight of our circumstances presses heavily upon him.

My brother, Khalil, is one of the future doctors of the world. Currently, he is a dedicated student at the Faculty of Medicine at Al-Azhar University. However, this dream is still elusive amidst the ongoing war that is causing all his ambitions and aspirations to slowly fade away. Unfortunately, due to the conflict, university buildings have been destroyed, shattering the dreams of students in Gaza, and the future was never this blurry for us.

My youngest sister, Hala, is 14 years old. Her aptitude for solving complex problems and grasping mathematical concepts surpasses that of many of her peers. She aims to win in the Palestine Minds Challenge Mathematics Olympiad and to achieve this, she dedicates herself daily to rigorous practice sessions. However, since the eruption of the conflict, her aspirations have been stymied

How can people help you and your family?

There is a company in Egypt that can help my family get out of Gaza. If anyone wants to help they can donate at this gofundme page.

--

--