Job loss and rejection: Despite the challenges, Nesma’s determination to create a better life for her family.

Nesma Elyan
I am Palestine
Published in
2 min readApr 25, 2024

Donation Campaign: https://gofund.me/014170a8

For the comprehensive narrative of my recently published story, please refer to the following link: Life Shaking Altering: Nesma’s Family’s Fight for Survival in Gaza.

At the end of each day, I find myself alone with my thoughts and engage in contemplation. If I feel a sense of accomplishment, I am able to sleep comfortably. But imagine, just for a moment, the feeling of seven long months without a single accomplishment to cling to, without life, evacuating from one place to another, clinging desperately to life itself, and scraping by for the bare necessities. And what do we find? Dirty water? Canned food rations from aid agencies? I’ll attach a video as a small part of our struggle for something as basic as clean water. Despite all of this and the efforts we make to stay alive, I am making relentless efforts to find work after losing my job last October due to the situation in Gaza. I’m met with rejection after rejection simply because they have the basic requirement of my presence outside Gaza. It’s a cruel irony that I face, leaving me pleading for your help to keep my family afloat and to cling to our dreams just a little while longer.

Your donation, no matter how modest, will yield a tangible impact!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EPA_XmUgJYaL8ndWVh4BjFQ-Yz6WL9EQ/view?usp=drivesdk

With love, Nesma.

--

--