Photo Caption: Unsplash

Admit It, You’re A Struggling Entrepreneur Who’s Not Happy

Andrea Claudia
WORTHY
Published in
4 min readMar 5, 2018

--

I can’t think of a single person who hasn’t fantasized about their ideal job.

Perhaps it’s not even a job, but rather a sustainable state of being that will allow them to live with peace of mind.

It’s human nature to think “what if.”

At times we get the guts to follow our “what ifs.” And for some, when the newness wears off, they find themselves fantasizing about another ideal scenario.

Or maybe not.

I have found that there’s a handful of insane yet extremely devoted people that, once they get an idea in their head, push full force to achieve it.

No matter what or who may stand in their way.

Their concept is enough to motivate and focus them on what they need to do daily.

Think of them as the Gary Vaynerchuks of the world.

Then there’s the rest of us.

We may think we know what we want until we start missing what we had.

But that’s when you must ask yourself, “Are you missing the past because you took it for granted or is fear of the unknown talking?”

Let’s look at the facts (*Source: bloggingpro.com):

  • Ninety percent of all startups fail.
  • Thirty-five percent mentioned grit is the most important trait to succeed, while only 21 percent said passion.
  • First-time business owners have an 18 percent chance of succeeding.

Yikes. Pretty grim right?

It can certainly be grim if you take the negative perspective.

But there’s still a 10 percent chance you can succeed. That’s huge considering each of us only had a 1 percent chance of becoming a fertilized egg.

Forget those percentages.

Instead, focus on how bad you want your own business. How serious you are in making your concept turn into reality.

I am a prime example of how passion alone will not make you succeed.

I have passion oozing out of my ears. I know I have grit too. But for some reason that grit has not taken center stage quite yet.

No matter how hard I tried to push it out it won’t budge.

Which leads me to believe my mission is not enough to drive me.

Yeah, I said it.

As entrepreneurs we all want to appear solid, proving that the sacrifice we took leaving a traditional job is well worth it.

We want to hush the skeptics and naysayers by projecting confidence and strategic competence.

When someone asks, “How’s your new business going?” we want to immediately respond in a positive way.

“Who cares if it’s only been three, six or nine months, I can’t possibly let people know how much I miss having a steady paycheck!”

I will admit that although I have a business plan, strategy and a few clients I really don’t know what I want to do with my business.

And most importantly, I definitely cannot tell anyone I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

Yet imagine if we, as entrepreneurs, could actually speak proudly about our struggles.

Many do, and I commend them for that. But I find that it’s often those that have already made it big.

I mean seriously, what new entrepreneur would want to risk their credibility by stating they are struggling internally?

(But hey, by the way, I am confident I can deliver the best service to your firm!)

Me.

I have no doubt I can deliver.

Scratch that. I know I can over deliver. I am confident and competent in my communications, marketing and writing background.

When I commit to working with a client I give them 110 percent.

The struggle is internal.

It does not affect my ability to deliver. It affects my ability to be happy.

I often feel selfish going on this journey while I see my husband going to his traditional job.

I miss being able to contribute to our funds in a meaningful way. But I also know that it was my time.

All my life I lived for others. Bending over backwards to support them in their dreams.

Now it was my turn. And quite frankly I have not known how to enjoy it.

The truth is this time won’t last forever. Not everyone has a chance to start over, to follow their “what ifs.”

It’s time to stop the inner struggle.

I’m guilty of being a struggling entrepreneur.

Like everyone else I want a chance to be happy.

I know it takes patience, grit and perseverance to succeed in this game. And I refuse to be a statistic.

I’m beginning to think that the label is what’s inhibiting my happiness.

  • Who’s to say I can’t stick with my current offerings while writing and pursuing something else?
  • Who’s to say I won’t get my grit together in a year and take off with my current strategy?

I may be struggling but that doesn’t mean I can’t be happy.

Happiness is a state of mind.

And struggling can be a positive journey if you allow yourself to be grateful for the lessons and opportunities it can bring along the way.

To all struggling and unhappy entrepreneurs out there: you’re not alone.

Best of luck in your journey to discover what you’re meant to be. Next time you encounter a new business owner just say, “I understand.” without saying anything else.

It will mean a lot.

If you’ve enjoyed this content please help me spread its message by offering your generous claps. Thank you in advance for your support and readership.

--

--

Andrea Claudia
WORTHY

Editor-in-Chief, WORTHY; Medium Top Writer: Inspiration & Leadership; Host, #DareToBe Twitter chat: Tuesdays 8 pm ET; Founder, www.sparkstory.co