Image courtesy of Unsplash

If You Want To Succeed, Get Out Of The Way

Andrea Claudia
WORTHY
Published in
4 min readDec 7, 2018

--

Over the past couple of months, I developed a renewed focus in growing my business.

Back when I started it in June 2017, I eased into a model that felt comfortable. In other words, I focused my work on things I had already tried before.

As a communications professional, the obvious path was consulting individuals or firms on how to create a successful personal brand. Everything from taking a comprehensive snapshot of your audience to putting together a social media strategy that represents the story you are trying to tell.

I’ve been fortunate to have clients but inside, I didn’t feel quite right.

Even though I branched out on my own and had the courage to start my own company, I was still shying away from the main leap of faith. This involved starting a business in an area that I had no experience in but passionately wanted to explore further.

Then it hit me. It doesn’t have to be either or.

What if I took my expertise and interwove it into the area I wanted to branch off in?

Ever since I was a child, I have always enjoyed seeing people’s eyes light up when they felt like they finally belonged.

Back in third grade I vividly remember starting a group called the Candy Ball Club. Now that I think about it, it really was a brilliant brand.

Our vision was creating a safe place to come together and have fun, while our mission was eating candy and playing kickball. We had about twelve kids in the club ranging from preschoolers to 4th graders.

We would meet after school by our favorite climbing tree and take turns bringing candy. I remember us always sitting in a circle, symbolizing our equal ownership of the club.

I now realize that from an early age I didn’t believe hierarchy achieved connectedness and trust.

We were there as equals, empowering each other to pick what games we would play next. Sometimes it took a lot of vulnerability, as not everyone was as flexible, graceful or athletic as others.

But it was all worth it when you witnessed little Kimberly kick her first ball past second base, driving the winning run.

I also remember Jimmy the 4-year old’s repeated attempts to keep up with dance moves as we exercised to some Olivia Newton John songs (don’t judge).

Seeing their faces light up when they mastered a skill was priceless.

I tell you all this because that third-grade girl is still inside of me.

I love bringing people together of different strengths into a safe place to learn from each other.

Empowerment truly wakes up the soul.

It’s time for grown up Andrea to get out of her own way.

And stop fighting what’s meant to be.

No matter how many times I tried to keep on the initial business path I set for myself, there was always something that pulled me away.

Today, rather than getting frustrated on my lack of focus or what I like to call ESS (Entrepreneur Squirrel Syndrome), I accept to go with the flow that the universe wants me to follow.

Trying too hard to fit into a mold I wasn’t resulted in pure exhaustion. It’s not until now that I became aware of this.

My inner confusion started from past interactions when many have told me that I’m great at what I do and that I’ll go far.

Deep inside I did not want to let them down.

The problem is that I was living their dream for me not my dream for me.

I want to go back to my leadership roots.

The ones of that 8-year old girl who enjoyed teaching and exposing others to new skills that they did not realize they had.

· I want to create a community where people from all backgrounds share their stories and ideas, so we can feel more empowered.

· I see myself using my communications and organizational change expertise as the foundation to the type of knowledge I want to share with others.

· I’m ready to get out of my way. Despite webinars, podcasts, online courses and video being unmastered territory for me, I’m ready to dive in.

The past, present and future are all about people.

Thus it makes sense to help empower them to believe in themselves. Perhaps also awakening some from any status quo-box they may have unconsciously put themselves in.

Amazing things can happen once the path is clear from detours and obstructions.

Who’s ready to move aside and trust the journey with me?

I’m Andrea Claudia, my vision is to give people the courage to tell their stories in order to empower others. Did you enjoy this piece? I invite you to subscribe to and share your voice on WORTHY. Let’s start a movement reminding everyone it’s ok to be human.

--

--

Andrea Claudia
WORTHY

Editor-in-Chief, WORTHY; Medium Top Writer: Inspiration & Leadership; Host, #DareToBe Twitter chat: Tuesdays 8 pm ET; Founder, www.sparkstory.co