The Day My Boy No Longer Believed In Santa. Here’s What Happened…

Andrea Claudia
WORTHY

--

I knew it was coming.

This year my boy lacked the usual “I can’t wait to look for the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ first thing in the morning ritual” not to mention the excitement of writing a letter to Santa.

But as a mother, one can never be fully prepared.

I mean, it’s not like it was the birds and the bees talk…at least not this month (gasp).

It was the talk that set things straight on the magic of make believe.

Or so I thought.

My 12-year old admitted that he did not believe in Santa.

I asked him what the moment was that changed his outlook. I was expecting him to say he heard noise at 3 a.m. last year while I snuck presents under the tree.

Or perhaps how his friends at school had set him straight.

But no.

I got, “Mom, when you get to be my age you are taught certain things in school. Santa’s existence and actions are not scientifically possible.”

I challenged his thoughts, reminding him that miracles are also not scientifically possible but that doesn’t mean they can’t happen. Not to mention believing in divine beings, angels, etc. that others may cherish.

“Mom, I’m talking about Santa. That’s different. I still believe in holiday magic, especially if you can help keep it special for others.”

He gave me a hug. Then walked away.

Who was this kid?!?

My middle child and only boy had grown up. His sensitivity toward others never ceased to amaze me.

Later that afternoon he asked if he could help be Santa with me, keeping the magic going with his little sister.

The excitement that was once used to imagine Santa making toys at the North Pole was now transmitted through wrapping presents with “special Santa paper.”

Once the believers were asleep, he sneaked toys with me under the tree, left “milk and cookie action” evidence in the kitchen, and helped place some grass, leaves and shoe prints by the fireplace.

Before going to bed he once again hugged me and whispered, “Mom, that was so much fun.”

At that moment I realized the magic is still alive.

Growing up doesn’t mean you can’t continue to have fun. It’s all about perspective, seeing things in different ways.

My boy has taught me that magic is everlasting when you don’t forget about your heart.

Happy holidays Medium family!

--

--

Andrea Claudia
WORTHY

Editor-in-Chief, WORTHY; Medium Top Writer: Inspiration & Leadership; Host, #DareToBe Twitter chat: Tuesdays 8 pm ET; Founder, www.sparkstory.co