Why I Will Prefer Wearing My Glasses

Dr. Doris Essiet
Eyecare Online
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2021
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

As an optometrist, I deal with rejection more than 60% of the time I had to prescribe a pair of reading glasses to a patient.

These reading glasses are out of necessity due to my patient’s inability to read tiny prints as she used to.

This stage is called Presbyopia and is usually experienced by most people from the age of 40 years.

Presbyopia affects more than 1.8 billion people around the globe so you can imagine that it made a huge headline last week when PR Newswire published that there has been an approval of an eyedrop called VUITY developed by Allergan which treats presbyopia.

This VUITY can work to improve near and intermediate vision as early as 15 minutes up to 6 hours without affecting the distance vision.

Yes, I have my reservations about this mode of treatment but I must say that this is a great development in the eyecare industry.

This could be a short-term solution to presbyopes with no other refractive conditions.

But as one who is beginning to experience early presbyopic symptoms, I am sticking with my glasses, and here are my reasons:

👉Presbyopia is a progressive eye condition which means that the degree of lens power I need to wear changes with age. This could mean changing the dose of the eye drop every couple of years and possible dependency.

👉Understanding the mechanism of pilocarpine which is the primary ingredient, I will struggle to read or see clearly in dim illumination. So what happens if I need to read at night or go for a drive?

👉There could be a struggle while trying to adjust vision from distance to reading.

👉And of course, I could experience hyperemia while using it.

These may not be such a big deal and I know adjustments and more research will go on but for now, I have this beautiful frame 👓 and I am sticking with it.

Which team are you on and why? Team Eyedrop or Team Glasses?

PS: This is my first eye care article here and I will appreciate your feedback and insights.

--

--