Image: Author

Homeward Bound

Harry Hogg
I challenge you
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2020

--

Take a walk in Mendocino
And very soon you’ll see
The rugged sandy shoreline
Beyond the Redwood trees

Magnificent unbound scenery
The Ocean’s tumult of surf
Endless petticoat waves
Beyond my money’s worth

Contrast then the Highlands
For Scotland is my home
Amid the crags and the moorland heather
Mystical towers and stone built thrones

I won’t miss California
I prefer it when gray and dull
Better to take me home then
To the beautiful Island of Mull

Ben More is there to protect me
Long shadows and deep snow
Today I think of the mountain
No matter where I go

I’ve taken too many chances
Played a hard romantic game
Lost so much love in a lifetime
Been battered and broken by shame

Dragons, wizards and whisky
In a land where eagles abound
From Calgary to Fiennphort
Cycle the road along ‘The Sound’

Duart Castle will greet you
After Lismore’s Fresnel light
Look out on Firth of The Lorne
Oh yes, the bonniest of sights

The island sings my welcome
Tobermory first of many loves
She lets me sleep so soundly
Under those clouds that float above

Visit the abbey on Iona
Torosay Castle, too
Take walks deep into the forest
Get your feet wet with morning dew

Climbing dry stone walls
Leaping over streams
Crossing over those valleys
Heading fast into my dreams

See this lick of happiness
Happening on my face
Confirming how my heart
Has found its rightful place

It’s quilt of stonewall patchwork
Crags and well trod moss
Legends you’ll soon hear
When reality has got lost

Every minute of Scottish daylight
Every worldly despair
Every day I still stop and wonder
Why ever I’m not there

Keep your springtime in Paris
Your California sunshine, too
I’m coming home my darling
Where my heart will be close to you

--

--

Harry Hogg
I challenge you

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2024