3 Christmas Gift Ideas for the Writer in Your Life (Assuming You Are a Complete and Total Cheapskate)

Rachel Darnall
I Digress
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2016
  1. Cyber Validation

Cheapskate level: Master

We all know you appreciate the writer in your life. But do you appreciate them ONLINE? There is a pretty significant segment of the “undiscovered writer” population that would give their firstborn child to get a single like, share, or comment on their work (not me of course. Ha ha.). Why not save your filthy lucre and give the gift every writer really wants?

2. “Good” Pens

Cheapskate level: Me

I have outgrown my need for expensive, leather-bound journals (I just picked up like 15 spiral-bound notebooks for about $0.20 each at BiMart), but it is really hard for me to write without my good pen. I can’t really get into using ballpoint for writing. It makes me feel repressed. I usually use something about like this:

It’s remarkable how fast they disappear. I blame my husband. My husband blames me. I guess what I’m trying to say is that you can never have enough. These babies cost a little bit more than their ballpoint brethren, but do the right thing and splurge a little. It’s Christmas.

3. This Book

Cheapskate Level: Backsliding Scrooge

This book on punctuation by Noah Lukeman is one of my favorite nerdy writer books (probably second only to “The Writer’s Art” by William Kirkpatrick, but that bad boy is out of print, I am sorry to say). The writer in your life will be in raptures over this little book ($8.35 if you buy it in paperback), which validates all of their most wild punctuation obsessions. Here’s a link to purchase it on Amazon*. You’re welcome.

*I swear to you that I am receiving no money to promote this book. I mean seriously, as I write this I have all of 38 followers. W.W. Norton & Co have better things to do with their money, I’m sure. P.S. That goes for the roller pens, too.

--

--

Rachel Darnall
I Digress

Christian, wife, mom, writer. Writing “Daughters of Sarah,” a book on women and Christian liberty.