Confession Time: I’m Writing a Book, You Guys

Mostly Because It Sounds Cool To Say That

Rachel Darnall
I Digress
1 min readMay 30, 2017

--

My writing space. Newly re-painted desk courtesy my husband. He’s responsible for the roses outside the window, too.

The idea started a few months ago, as I was sitting in front of my computer, facing down the title I had just typed for a new article: Why I SAHM: An Exhaustive List. I wanted to get it all out on paper: the logic behind why I do what I do (and no, it’s not just because we had a baby). As thoughts crowded and swelled in my brain, I realized, “This is not an article, Rachel. This is a book.”

I wrote something else that day. But the idea wouldn’t go away. For a writer, when an idea won’t go away, that’s usually a good sign.

So I have officially begun work on The Housewife Manifesto: A Treatise in Defense of Full-time Homemaking. (Catchy title, no?)

I started on the actual text this morning. 794 words, baby.

--

--

Rachel Darnall
I Digress

Christian, wife, mom, writer. Writing “Daughters of Sarah,” a book on women and Christian liberty.