“Jurassic Park” Is The Ultimate Female Empowerment Movie

Rachel Darnall
I Digress
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2016

No, I’m not talking about Dr. Sattler’s wicked paleontology skills, or her conspicuous analysis of the plant life on Isla Sorna, or even her admirable tenacity when it comes to getting cozy with an SUV-sized pile of poo (for the record, any woman worth her salt would have done the same: real women aren’t scared of poo).

I’m talking about the fact that every time you see a dinosaur ripping tires off of a Jeep with their teeth, putting a long-overdue end to a kill-joy lawyer or just generally making everybody scream like a little girl in abject terror … that dinosaur is a WOMAN DINOSAUR.

Jurassic Park brings new meaning to the term “femme fatale”. Not only are these girls strong, they’re smart, too:

They know what they want (food) and they know how to get it (eat it).

Rather than falling prey to petty intrigues over non-existent males, they work together towards common goals. I mean, those other two raptors … you didn’t even know they were there, did you? (#SquadGoals)

I guess what I’m trying to say is: skip the Beyonce concert, girls — there’s a new female role model in town.

--

--

Rachel Darnall
I Digress

Christian, wife, mom, writer. Writing “Daughters of Sarah,” a book on women and Christian liberty.