My Husband Won’t Be My Birth Coach

. . . And We Are Both More Than OK With That

Rachel Darnall
I Digress
1 min readJun 28, 2017

--

“The first birth I ever witnessed took place at home. It was my sister’s fourth and by this point she was an old hand, as was my brother-in-law. There were two licensed midwives standing by, but they didn’t get to earn their keep because my brother-in-law provided nearly 100 percent of the emotional support, coaching, and delivery assistance. He was the one who caught my nephew and put him on my sister’s chest. He, not a paid medical professional, was the first one to see his newborn son’s face.

This all happened long before I even met my husband, but I always kept that image in the back of my mind as my ideal birth experience . . . “

Follow the link to read the rest of this story!

--

--

Rachel Darnall
I Digress

Christian, wife, mom, writer. Writing “Daughters of Sarah,” a book on women and Christian liberty.