A Cell Phone Society

Alexis Chaffin
Rose Time
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2019

In a world where our whole world is literally in our pockets, younger generations get a lot of crap for spending overtly large amounts of time on their phones. As one of the younger generations, we are known for being “addicted” to our phones, but why is that such a bad thing? As I said our whole world is essentially on just in our hands, yeah there may be downsides but there are so many good things about it. As I have moved out of my childhood home and prepare for adulthood, I am still able to connect with my family on a regular bases and that is really important to me, without my phone I wouldn’t get to talk to them really unless I went home, which I don’t do often. I am also able to stay in touch with my friends from high school that go to different schools now and all though I may not be as close with them as we were when we saw each other every day in school, it is still nice to have the option to check in on people. After monitoring my usage for a week I think my findings conclude that I do use my phone mostly to keep in touch with people.

That being said, I do use my phone a lot for downtime because it is easy and accessible right away, and it beats staring at the wall. And people think that we are so engulfed with what’s going on in the virtual world that we don’t know how to interact with the people around us, but that’s not true. When I am with my friends or family, I know those are great moments to make memories and I do that, I try to stay off my phone as much as possible when I’m with them but having my phone there to document those memories is an amazing thing to have and look back on.

--

--