Libbei Defined

Dr. Sundiata Soon-Jahta
Sustainable Solutions
2 min readApr 7, 2023
Photo by Jiroe (Matia Rengel) on Unsplash

Definition

Libbei (lib-ee) is derived from the word liberation and it signifies a non-monogamous or polyamorous romantic relationship devoid of conventional relationship assumptions, norms, and expectations. Libbeis cultivate relationships from scratch based on agreements that they both or all consent to. A person can have one or more libbeis.

Uses

Libbei love

Libbei life partner

“Ada is my libbei”

“Soon is my libbei love”

“Monai is my libbei life partner”

Back Story

I’m a non-monogamous and polyamorous person who engages in romantic relationships through a relationship anarchy lens. Relationship anarchy (RA) is a way of approaching relationships that rejects any rules and expectations other than the ones the involved people agree on.

Over time I’ve evolved to reject labels for romantic relationships like boyfriend, girlfriend, wife, husband, and partner because of the assumptions, norms, and expectations that come with those labels. I would say to romantic interests that “I want to cultivate a loving connection from scratch, over time, as we get to know one another”.

In 2022 someone came into my life who shared similar relationship anarchy values and beliefs and over time we started spending more and more time together. It was through the evolution of this highly resonant and values aligned romantic connection that I realized that I desired to have a word to describe our relationship. I realized that I didn’t have an issue with labels…I just had an issue with the labels that already existed.

It was from this desire that I began to use libbei. I hope that others who practice consensual non-monogamy find it useful as well.

--

--

Dr. Sundiata Soon-Jahta
Sustainable Solutions

Anti-Oppression Content Creator, Facilitator, & Organizer. Theory of Indivisibility podcast host. DrSundiata.com IG: @dr.sundiata