Heaven’s Gate

In 1997, thirty-nine people took their own lives in an apparent mass suicide. Heaven’s Gate podcast tries to find an answer

Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2018

--

Editor’s note
This is the beginning of the collaboration with another podcast lover: Kayt Molina. As often happens on the internet, even if we live in two different continents with an ocean in between, the love for podcasts can bring people together. That's why when she asked me if she could be of any help I was very happy. She's a very clever and talented writer and I'm pretty sure that a different point of view and two more ears would definitely benefit this publication. Without further ado, a very warm welcome to Kayt!

As a big fan of Snap Judgement, I have no idea how Heaven’s Gate evaded my attention. I’m familiar with host Glynn Washington’s cult-like family history from his occasional storytelling on Snap Judgement so I wasn’t shocked when my husband told me to listen to Heaven’s Gate and I discovered that Glynn had this new side project. It made perfect sense for him to be interested and involved in a podcast that takes a dive into the notorious Heaven’s Gate cult.

I’m a shameless true crime fan but I have to admit that I wasn’t familiar with the Heaven’s Gate mass suicide. Glynn’s voice is a little cheery, considering the tone of the podcast but his personal offerings and parallels are insightful and interesting. The whole production is so well-researched; the interviews succinct and expressive. And the subject of this podcast- the people behind and involved in the mass suicide of a alien-believing cult- unsettling and intriguing.

What stood out most to me was how happy the members were, how much like a family they felt, and how harmless it all sounded in the beginning. Sure, the leaders were a little out there, a little unstable, but they were more like lost and lonely, misunderstood souls, searching to find their place than criminal masterminds who would encourage suicide of people they claimed to love.

I really enjoyed this podcast — it took turns being sad and thought-provoking and scary and beautiful. My heart went out to the family members whose loved ones died in the Heaven’s Gate cult. Listening to them share their stories and grapple with what happened reminded me of how fragile but resilient humans can be. It helped bring a level of sense to something impossible to understand and comprehend. These 10 episodes are definitely worth a listen for those who are interested in true crime and the psychology of cults.

--

--