Up and Vanished

A mysterious disappearance spawned a podcast that began over a decade later but, in the middle of the investigation, a sudden and shocking confession changes everything.

Kayt Molina
I LOVE PODCASTS

--

Did you love Season 1 of Serial but hated the fact that there was no solution? You, like me, love the mystery of unsolved true crime BUT you also need some closure!! Then I have the podcast for you…

I have no idea why it took so long for Up and Vanished to appear on my radar but here I am to share the good news so that no one else misses out on this gem.

An investigative podcast that explores the unsolved* disappearance of Georgia beauty queen and high school teacher, Tara Grinstead. The 11-year-old cold case is the largest case file in the history of Georgia. What happened to Tara Grinstead?

What’s that little *asterisk for? This podcast is about a disappearance in 2005 that ends in the real-time, current-day arrest of a suspect. And you get to participate in watching it all unfold.

It’s incredibly satisfying to have questions suddenly answered. However, this podcast also reminded me that sometimes answers only bring on more questions, albeit different ones than we first asked.

And, though I am not left wondering who did it, I am left wondering, “Why?” It’s a question I am familiar with as a fan of true crime stories. The desire to understand the unexplainable phenomenon- how a human being can take another’s life is part of what drives that interest. But the knowledge that we will never be able to know exactly happened is what that haunts us — those same elements make this podcast unforgettable and compelling.

--

--